We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Desert Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Retreat Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Desert Retreat Camp to your Saves list
Desert Retreat Camp
Al Wasil | 196, Ghuwayfat al Habb 196, Oman   |  
Hotel amenities
Amman, Jordan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Great Desert Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Camping in the desert for a night at this camp was one of my memorable memories of my holiday in Oman. The camp was around 25 km's from the Al Wasil Village. The welcome drink of coffee and fruit was a nice touch. Also went dune bashing and camel riding, you can arrange this when you reach the camp. The sunset was breathtaking to watch. The Bedouin style tents were comfortable to sleep in and the bathroom was spotless. The food was barbecued chicken/lamb with salad and rice - delicious. Staff were most helpful. Unlike other camps in the desert, this camp turned off its generator and in the evening, we sat around the campfire looking at the stars. Truly beautiful. Overall, a lovely camp, great people and a wonderful memory. I'd highly recommend a night in the desert with Desert Retreats.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I am an expat resident in Oman and visited here with my parents. Everything about the camp really is magical. We have visited the desert before in other countries but the welcome, the setting and the experience truly set this apart. I enjoyed it so much I went back the following week with friends, and cannot wait to go back again. Having the generators switched off at 9pm after a lovely meal and sitting in the silence of the desert truly is one of life's more special experiences. Take every opportunity that you can to talk to Humaid - he is welcoming, knowledgable and will tell you everything you need to know about the camp, the desert and Oman. Do also try the dune-bashing and the Bedu camp visit - the views and experiences will really add to an amazing time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Most people spend just 1 night in Wahiba Sands or even do a day trip from Muscat. Bit of a shame as Wahiba is pretty spectacular.
Best times are sunrise and sunset over the dunes, and the night sky at Desert Retreat is most impressive, particularly as the generator is switched off at the end of dinner.
Pleasantly low key operation, best plan is to get to the gas station in al Wasil for 3pm, meet up with the owner and follow him out to the camp.
Camels, dune bashing and sand surfing are excellent activities and during the het of the day make the 45 minute trip to Wadi Bin Khalid to soak in the pools etc.
If you want a friendly, personal operation, Desert Retreat is as good as it gets in Wahiba.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stay for 2 nights in the camp with our daughter of 12 years old. It was a magic experience!
Already the way to arrive to the camp it's amazing the long of the dunes. Then the camp with only beduine tentes but inside beds, anyway, its very special. We enjoy the Welcome of Humaid with tea and fruits. The climbing of the dune to see the sun set. The dinner simple but really very good and the night time around the fire. We just meet other visitors in the magic night of the desert. It's fun because for some of them, we were following each other in the différents hotels but, only here we take the time and have the pleasure to really meet and speak, very nice.
We went to ride camel and also to the Dunes discover with the Humaid's car. It's very funny and had a smell of adventure but also very interesting and allow you to learn a lot about desert;
The Camp is near a big dune and easy to do some work to see the wonderful landscape.
Very authentique view of the Wahiba sands.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent three nights in the Desert Retreat Camp and we had a fantastic time. The camp is located next to on of the highest dunes of Wahiba Sands which is really impressive and you have breathtaking sundowns and sunsets. You can do camle rides, you can climb and walk the dunes, but you can also have a kind of "dune ride". Humaid, the camp owner, can tell you stories about the desert, the tries, the camels, etc. We enjoyed the Omani hospitality with the traditional coffee, dates and fruits and the campfires in the night. The new years eve was spectacular, because it was so different with fantastic traditional Omani musicians and a very special atmosphere. But, you are in the middle of the desert, which means it's getting cold in the night and you are part of the nature. Life is not like in a five star hotel, but it was one of the most impressive and unforgettable accommodations in Oman.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with 2 friends (we are all girls in our mid 20s) and shared a tent between 3. Humaid, who runs the camp was very friendly, helpful and interesting to talk to throught our stay. We didn't have a 4x4, so we arranged to be picked up from a petrol station in al wasil. The pickup was a little late (but we had rung ahead to say we might be late ourselves). We drove into the desert, passing camels and sand dunes. We drove in via the off road route, with some pretty crazy and exciting ( in a good way!) driving over the sand dunes. We were dropped off on the hill above the campsite to watch the sunset, which was gorgeous, then made our way down to the camp where we were welcomed with coffee and the best dates I have ever eaten. Dinner was a mix of traditional foods including barbecued lamb and chicken with rice and salad. Very tasty! After dinner the generators were switched off and we sat around a campfire appreciating the peace and calm of the desert. No belly dancers or tacky entertainment here, just the desert and the stars.
Accommodation is in tents containing proper beds, and electric lights when the generators are switched on (there are torches for the rest of the time). The bathrooms are proper tiled rooms with plumbed in toilet, shower and wash basin but no roof! Perfectly clean and private however. There is comfortable seating in the main tent /social area. I would heartily recommend this for anyone who wants to appreciate a restful night away from it all, and to experience the beauty of the desert, good food, good company, and interesting conversation

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Retreat Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Retreat Camp

Address: Al Wasil | 196, Ghuwayfat al Habb 196, Oman
Location: Oman > Ghuwayfat al Habb
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ghuwayfat al Habb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Desert Retreat Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Retreat Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.