We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura to your Saves list
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   45 - 47 Churchill St, Kaikoura, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed at BV for the 2nd time while traveling south from Picton, location is so handy (on main road but still very quiet). Free wifi always handy.
Staff are really friendly and recommended the perfect cafe for brunch.
Walking distance to shops and cafes. Hope your trip to Te Anau went smoothly :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and repeat business! We had a wonderful trip to Te Anau :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    36
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
55
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Fantastic accommodation, great little family run place who know what service is. The only shortfall of the place is the shower! It's like one if this you find in aged care facilities, or like one that was in the disabled toilet at my old university.. Other than that the place is a great little motel to stay at as a base of operations for exploring kaikoura

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, we pride ourselves on a friendly professional service to suit all guests. The room you had would have been 1 of our 2 access studios and all other 16 units do have regular cubicle showers. Some people love the open showers and others not so much! We are always happy to help with anything that will make your stay more comfortable and happy, please in the future ask for anything you would like and most places will be obliging :) happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed in Bella Vista Motel for one day when we visited Kaikoura last year and found it to be quite good. The hotel is located on the main road from Chritchurch to Kaikoura and easily located. Its just a few minutes walk to the whale watching ferry. Its also close to the town where there are a few more restaurants and lots of other hotels that face the water.
We arrived at the hotel in the evening and the check-in was quite fast. The room itself was very clean though a bit cramped. The bathroom was quite huge.
The couple managing the motel were very friendly. We only had a couple of hours in the even and when approached they offered good advice on things to do in the evening as well as good places for dinner.
All in it was a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Room near reception has a good wi-fi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for taking time to place a review on your stay with us, it is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Very clean and tidy motels, best service as mangers are very professional and provide all info regarding what to do while in kaikoura , well done guys, this is a great location and really good views and close walk to town centre

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

It was at Kaikoura that we stayed in our first Bella Vista, booked for us by Relaxing Journeys, and we were not disappointed. Comfortable and clean, it had good amenities..Kettle, microwave, coffee and tea sachets. As we are a retired couple, the ground floor room was good for us.One does have to walk up a slight incline , and a few stairs to get to the hotel. Not strenuous at all.We took a taxi from the station.
IT is not on the beach road but just a short walk will take you there as well as to the main shopping street....There is a route thru the church to the shops.Also a straight walk, with views of the sea takes you near a little bridge leading to the crossroads just opposite a big paua shop.
The main road has interesting shops and eateries. At the cross road ,the last shop had tasty meat wraps...huge ones.One was enough for the 2 of us and we put the other in the fridge and heated it for breakfast. We walked the Peninsula..an amazing walk..different coastlines with such a variety of rocks and pebbles. We didn't have a car so we walked , thru Churchill road ,turned at South Bay. It was a looong walk...wonderful. As we had to inspect every type of rock and seaweed it took us more than double the time.If we ever go back i'd love to wander the coast again.We had sunny weather,blue skies.
Next day as we had to take the coastal train, we had a whole morning free and booked the Albatross Encounter. This too was fantastic. To see those huge birds majestically bobbing on the waves is something we will not forget. Some Acrobatic dolphins entertained us on the way.
I am sorry I forget who was at the reception , (think it was Penny) but they were kind and allowed us to store our big suitcases in their home .The free internet that was allowed was enough for us. Thanks for the comfortable stay. Kaikoura has so much for us to experience . Two days was too short a time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
We appreciate your time to share your visit to Kaikoura and are so glad you enjoyed yourself and saw and did all the great things to do here including the Albatross tour... a common favourite! great photos thank you :) happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

During the Christchurch downpour on 5th March we could not get to our pre-booked site at Akaroa because of road blockages.

All motels we passed en route werr booked out.

Fearful of having to overnight in our little hired Yaris (two 70 year olds), we contacted our next booking at Bella Vista Kaikoura. The managers re-arranged rooms and managed to fit us in, were extremely helpful and very generous with their time when we had some communication issues.

More importantly, they were bright and cheerful, something we genuinely needed at the time.
The next morning, we woke to a beautiful sight of snow capped Kaikouras, a consequence of the fearful weather the previous day.

So thank you to those lovely people who made us feel so at home, and secure.

Elaine Staples Canberra

Room Tip: Choose the larger rooms. They have space which adds to the comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thanks for your review and taking the time. Well that was indeed a crazy weekend for weather and we of course did everything we could for anyone who needed help. So glad you felt welcomed and the change to your plans didn't put you out. Safe travels :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay. The wheelchair accessible room was well thought out, down to bi-fold cupboard door for ease of reach and attention paid to the gap down the side of the bed for access. Hosts were lovely, very helpful. A good standard of room and service for the price. Will definitely be staying again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaVistaKaikoura, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We enjoy being able to make your stay comfortable and provide everything you need to feel at home. We look forwards to seeing you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura

Address: 45 - 47 Churchill St, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bella Vista Motel in Kaikoura has 18 units. Compact studios with tea and coffee making facilities, accessible units with microwaves, standard queen studios with kitchenettes, king studios with kitchenettes, Spa bath studio with a king bed and kitchenette through to 1 bedroom units with spa baths and cooking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.