We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura

Save Saved
You added Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   45 - 47 Churchill St, Kaikoura, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Kaikoura
AshbydelaZouch
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

After a lengthy drive from Dunedin we arrived in Kaikoura to stunning views of coast and snow capped mountains.
After spending quite a few nights recently in Bella Vista motels, this one didn't disappoint. A warm welcome greeted us and our host provided us with information on places to eat, places to visit etc and booked a whale watch trip for us (sadly cancelled due to fog at sea ). Our studio apartment was comfortable, immaculately clean and well equipped (even included a spa bath ) and was complemented by nice outdoor space and guest barbeque.
Enjoyed Kaikoura - lovely ex whaling station - our only disappoint as the cancelled trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiperLee, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. I also was dissapointed your whale trip was cancelled, it breaks my heart when people travel from near or far away and weather goes against us. Maybe one day you will make it back to see the whales?! I am pleased the rest of your stay went well and you got to enjoy our wonderful scenery, something I appreciate every single day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    32
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
50
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Excellent customers skills on arrival by reception, very informative, room absolutely superb, double glazing means minimal noise, great surroundings for relaxing. Very refreshed after a great nights rest and relaxation. Absolutely no faults just all positives.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiperLee, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, I am so pleased your stay with us was comfortable and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Having stayed at other motels in the Bella Vista "chain" we rate this one the highest. It is well located with fine views of the mountains, and it is just a short walk away from the town centre and all the noise and bustle. The room was just what we needed in terms of space, equipment and comfort, including the double glazing. However the real difference is the owners Penny and Josh) who were most friendly, knowledgeable and helpful - we might of missed the Ohau seal pup nursery if it was not for them.

Room Tip: Try for an upper room with view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiperLee, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you! I am so pleased you had a good stay here with us and hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornby, null, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We booked for one night at the Bella Vista . Our room was completely spotlessly clean and had that 'clean' smell about it too. The lady who greeted us upon arrival was lovely and very friendly and helpful showing us a map and suggesting things we could do in Kaikoura. The bed was possibly too comfortable and I found it very hard to get up the next day!
Excellent motel and would highly recommend to anyone staying in Kaikoura!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiperLee, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms and bed comfortable and clean. I hope my advice and map was of use to you while here in Kaikoura! Penny :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Penny's warm and gracious greeting took the edge off of our motel experience. In fact, the place was very clean and I finally got my washing done!

Josh even invited me over to chat in Japanese. I was shocked that he spent 4+ years there. We spent 30 minutes discussing our lives in Japanese. He's the chef at White Morph and perhaps the best cook on the south island. Best meal I've had to date...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny I, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your review! It was really nice to meet you and your family. Josh enjoyed having someone to chat with in Japanese too, and appreciates your kind words about his cooking. Hope the rest of your trip is going well :)
P.S one of you left a charger here with multi adapter on it, if you call or email and give me a forwarding address I will send it on for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I booked to stay in the Bella Vista motel on the basis of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and I wasn't disappointed. The owners were so friendly, their advice was spot on and they couldn't have been nicer. The rooms are modern, clean and when I opened the curtains in the morning I saw snow-capped mountains. I would recommend this motel to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny I, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you so much for coming to stay with us, it was an absolute pleasure having you here and hope to see you again in the future. So glad you got to see and enjoy everything Kaikoura has to offer. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Penny and Josh received us like friends! Including pick up at and return to the train station. Rooms were comfortable and immaculately clean. The town of Kaikoura is within easy walking distance and very pretty. Josh also is a chef at the White Morph restaurant in town - what a treat to taste his food. Just check out that restaurant if you want top quality. Thanks Penny and Josh, we loved our short stay in Kaikoura!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny I, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you had a great time here and hearing back from you makes it all worth it :) We love our jobs and enjoy making your time here memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura

Address: 45 - 47 Churchill St, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bella Vista Motel in Kaikoura has 18 units. Compact studios with tea and coffee making facilities, accessible units with microwaves, standard queen studios with kitchenettes, king studios with kitchenettes, Spa bath studio with a king bed and kitchenette through to 1 bedroom units with spa baths and cooking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.