We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Overnight Stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   16-18 Churchill Street (State Highway 1), Kaikoura, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Overnight Stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Clean room with good facilities. The bathroom was was clean, and had a good sized bath/shower. The kitchenette contained all we needed. Unfortuneately the air-con leaked water all over the bed during the night which made for a slightly interupted evening.
Pool was lovely and the office staff were friendly.
Parking for the rear units is VERY tight - need to reverse in so you can actually get your car out in the morning!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    40
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
53
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed one quick night here on our way to Nelson and found this hotel clean and convenient. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a quick walk to town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Everything from check-in to check-out was great!! Rooms are modern and very tasteful, hosts very friendly and helpful and had great recommendations for dinner! The town centre is just a short walk from the motel through the park.
A big thumbs up to this one!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Central location, friendly hosts. Rooms were clean and well equipped.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Excellent motel and walking distance to town. Friendly and helpful hosts. Room well equipped amd very clean. Hosts were understanding when we checked out early to get to Christchurch before the big snow.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We arrived late, after the reception had officially closed but when we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The owners had thoughtfully put on the bedside lights and the heating so the room was warm when we went in which was hugely appreciated (most places you arrive in are freezing!). The location was good for town but not in the centre. We enjoyed staying here - it was bright, clean, modern and the owners were friendly (something which seems to have been lacking in other places we have stayed!). Only downside was the bed - every time my husband turned over, I nearly got bounced out of bed (neither of us are big) - very springy!! We will recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The motel is very modern looking but, despite the double glazing, traffic noise disturbed us during the night. (The motel is on a steep hill on the way out of Kaikoura, used by all the trucks.) The unit was lovely, with modern fittings and excellent heating. The owner was very helpful and friendly. This was the second most expensive motel we stayed in during our ten day trip up and down the east coast and, apart from the noise, was worth the slight extra cost.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge

Address: 16-18 Churchill Street (State Highway 1), Kaikoura, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaikoura Gateway Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.