We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food & Wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maxtons Restaurant - CLOSED

Maxtons Restaurant
146 Esplanade, Kaikoura 8280, New Zealand
+64 3-319 4444
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Maxtons Restaurant is located within the Kaikoura Boutique Hotel on the waterfront, entrance through the courtyard. Maxtons is only small so we recommend you make a reservation to avoid disapointment.
Akaroa, New Zealand
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Superb Food & Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Sea and mountain views are stunning. The boutique restaurant is elegantly appointed, intimate with a casually formal feel. We both had the fish of the day with beurre blanc sauce, duck-roasted potatoes and seasonal veges, the portions were just right and cooked perfectly. A good wine selection and dessert was equally delicious as was the coffee. At the time of our visit, this restaurant is owner operated with pleasant service and an eye for customer satisfaction.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having chosen this restaurant based on previous reviews - we were extremely disappointed with this place. Although my food was good the same cannot be said for my wife's food which arrived barely warm and was just about warm even after it was sent back. To cap it all off, after we finished our mains my wife noticed a mouse in the corner of the restaurant which briefly made an appearance. Overall, not a happy visit. The only positive of this restaurant are its location and views.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxtons, Owner at Maxtons Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, both here and at the time of your visit to Maxtons Restaurant.

Im very glad to hear you enjoyed your meal, and the views from the Restaurant.

We are very sorry that your wife did not enjoy her dinner, as the sauce on this dish is served room temperture, its was obviously not to your wifes liking, we heated the sauce and your wife still wasnt happy... I then asked your wife if she would like us to cook her another dish and she said no, I therefore said there will be no charge for your dinner as your wife was clearly not happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fresh, simple & delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Beautiful views over the ocean. Restaurant is set within the Kaikoura Boutique Hotel but run separately.

Fish is fresh every day and cooked in two ways - the one I had was probably the best fish course I have ever eaten in my life. It was cooked to perfection and served with a silky beurre blanc and (somewhat oddly) duck fat roasted potatoes!!

Good selection of wines and a few available by the glass.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland N Z
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“All round good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our motel host suggested we try Maxtons which was a short walk from our accommodation and we were very happy with the recommendation.
The building has had extensive renovations and they have the indoor dining area just right. It is boutique without being formal or fussy and the tables nicely set.
The fish of the day was excellent and the option of a fresh spicy salsa or a richer sauce as accompaniment was a great idea. My salad was fresh and not over dressed. Dessert was also delicious. Wine selection was good too.
Our service was friendly and efficient and overall we had a very pleasant evening and would dine there again and recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had excellent quality food and service on both occasions that we ate in this restaurant. Everything that we had was perfectly cooked. Meals came complete with potatoes and vegetables,so that there was no need for sides. It was clear that the management did not want you to leave still feeling hungry. I had the fish dishes on each occasion and my meals were delicious. There are a number of tables in the restaurant with views of the sea, which can also enhance your dining experience. We had 26 evening meals in New Zealand. Taking quality of the meal, service,setting and value for money, we consider this to be the best restaurant that we dined in throughout our stay.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxtons Restaurant also viewed

 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxtons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.