We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Dolphin Restaurant & Bar

Green Dolphin Restaurant & Bar
12 Avoca St, Kaikoura 8280, New Zealand
03319-6666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Price range: $17 - $52
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
bedford
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

A busy restaurant but very good food. The service is helpful and efficient. There are views of the bay but it seems booking is essential.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    106
    32
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aveton Gifford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The best meal we had in New Zealand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was stunning. We have learned now not to have starters! We had the most beautifully cooked rack of lamb with roasted vegetables and I still had room for a pud. I ordered 'fig salami with roasted walnuts in blue borage honey with creamy blue cheese' because where else have you seen that? It was scrumptious, the 'salami' being slices of compressed figs with nuts, and going beautifully with the blue cheese cream. To die for...

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice dining but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here which was a good meal. For a small town right on the water the food was very expensive. For example a crayfish (lobster) meal was $100 plus starter and dessert. We'd try someplace else in town.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“nice dining during a rainy Sunday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had good dinner at this restaurant. Overlooking the beach we enjoyed local (lam and crayfish) food served with very nice local wines. Staff was very professional and easy going

we would certainly come back!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

The food here was amazing. Cooked with care and served beautifully; cannot recommend this place enough! A lovely setting and tender melt in your mouth meals. My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Dolphin Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Green Dolphin Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Dolphin Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.