We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find on a cold and rainy night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaikoura Cottage Motels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kaikoura Cottage Motels to your Saves list
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Corner Old Beach Road | Mill Road and State Highway 1, Kaikoura, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kapolei, Hawaii
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A great find on a cold and rainy night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Excellent value and great quiet location. We were late getting to Kaikoura and the owner was waiting for us with a small cold milk (trim for my Wife's tea). The room was spacious and very clean and we had all we could want for a nice little cabin stay. I wish we had planned to stay longer in the Kiakoura area so we could have enjoyed the cabin longer. When I went for my morning run I was shocked to see the grand mountains with their snow and hear the surf just beyond the dunes. A bit down the road one of the neighbors has created a mini "Hobit" house in his sheep pasture. It was worth driving back when everyone else was up to take a couple of snaps.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be about the same. Cute, quiet, and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
66
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed overnight and booked last minute while travelling with family including 2 teenage sons. Apartments were clean and warm and very easy to use. Shower pressure a bit weak - pet peeve... but next door fish & chip shop was magic! Also gave recommendations on stop off at seal pups as we headed North.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our one night here. The owners have thought if everything. The cottages are clean,warm and comfy. The kids enjoyed the play area. The views of the kaikoura ranges are wonderful and the warmth of the winter sun meant we could sit on the north west facing deck a
nd soak it up. Highly recommend. of

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Cannot say enough about Kaikoura Cottage Motels! Lovely, friendly hosts. Possibly the cleanest place we have ever stayed! Beautlfully decorated interior. Warm & inviting. Great heating. Comfortable beds. Quiet location. We will be back!
The Overends

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Comfy, friendly, and the cleanest place I have ever been to. It is very quiet and affordable. The garden is nice. There is a laundry room for self-service. I would stay there again. Kaikoura is a must.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Sadly we only stayed one night. This was the best place we stayed throughout N.Z. We would recommend this to anyone. The cottage was beautifully clean and comfortable. The heater had been turned on waiting for our arrival. The owners went out of their way to be helpful and provided as much detail as we could ever have wished for. Even though it backs on to a main road there was no road noise.
We couldn't fault the cottages.
Hillary

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed one night and wished we had been there for a few more days. The view from the front porch over to the mountains was magic and to sit out there in the afternoon sun was so relaxing. Very chilly night but little cottage warmed up beautifully and the bed was lovely and comfy. Basic bathroom facilities but quite adequate for our needs. Had asked for access unit due to husband's walking difficulties and he managed the shower fine. Spotlessly clean. Nice fish and chip shop just down the road if you don't want to drive to town, which is a wee way away. Raewyn, you are a great hostess and we appreciated your warmth and helpfulness.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaikoura Cottage Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Cottage Motels

Address: Corner Old Beach Road | Mill Road and State Highway 1, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Cottage Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kaikoura Cottage Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaikoura Cottage Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.