We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but not premier.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
5.0 of 5 Motel   |   34 Beach Road, Kaikoura, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Okay but not premier.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here one night over Easter. Booked a camper-van site with power. Very busy so therefore also noisy during the night. Went to showers at 8 am to find them all flooded and also no toilet-paper to be found. Been to other campgrounds over Easter with basic facilities but they were all spotless and clean - so will definitely not bother paying the extra for a TOP 10 Holiday Park again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. I sincerely apologise that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Easter weekend was a very busy weekend for us, much busier than Easter has been for us over the last few years. While we were cleaning the facilities as much as possible at times it felt like a losing battle as no sooner had a cleaner or manager left the building after cleaning and less than half an hour later it was back to the same state again. A mixture of heavy dew in the morning and children in and out of the pool all day also added to this problem on a particularly busy weekend. We tried to deal with as best as possible but will definitely look into how we can keep our facilities up to standard at all times, as we want all our customers experiences to be consistent. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    80
    37
    15
    11
See reviews for
74
107
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We really liked the location f the site as we parked the camper van and didn't move it until 2 days later. The place was spotless. They have an unexpected number of cooktops and a huge kitchen facility. It has about 10 sets of tables and chairs and a lot of people ate in the kitchen/ dining room area. The spot we had included a nice picnic table. They had 2 staff working the front desk where we have found the camp sites only have 1 so we were dealt with promptly. They also had good laundry facilities and even had an iron and ironing board. We really enjoyed it and would come back. There was no night noise to be concerned with. Great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Despite being a liitle disappointed on arrival that there were no sea views this site is in a great location not far from the centre of town or the sea front.
As with all the TOP10 sites we used during our stay the toilet/shower facilities were clean and tidy and the staff friendly and helpful.
Campsite in the uK could learn a thing or too from the Kiwiws!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

kaikoura was one of the 8 top 10 holiday park that we stayed in. We had a camper van and stayed there 2 nights. It's really not fair to the management of this site to give a poor rating as I have come to the conclusion that no matter how clean these sites are, it really depends on culture of the people who are staying there to maintain it clean. Long story short, the first night ( march 2nd), the site was all booked. The ladies facility was spoiled completely in the middle of the night. No staff present until 7 in the morning. Imagine a solid booked site with no ladies washroom/ shower..... I am just wondering if it's feasible to have a couple of staff overnight when they are super busy???

Room Tip: there is no waterr front parking . The fence around the park blocks the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hello there,
Thank you for this feedback - you're right it was a busy night for campervan sites on the 2nd of March and I apologise that you were unhappy with the state of one of our blocks. Our managers do a final check of our two blocks at 9.30pm. We believe this is a reasonable time for the final check. Of course they do get used after this time but a lot less than during the day and early evening. We do have staff who stay on site - they are available for emergencies 24/7 but we don't get them to check the blocks in the middle of the night. While we agree that it is unfortunate that a guest/guests made a mess overnight, we do check the blocks first thing and address any issues straight away, it also helps us immensely when guests alert us to any problems as well to fix it even quicker. We have two blocks available for use so if one was not to a guest's satisfaction we would hope the next block would be used instead. We will definitely take your feedback on board and I will talk to staff to ensure they are doing thorough checks and clean of our facilities. Thanks again for your feedback :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was our first stay in a campervan site, so I will write as I felt at the time, then add an update at the end after experiencing others.
' Our first experience so nothing to compare with but really impressed. Great location for walk into town, pleasant and helpful staff, nice views, not too cramped and very clean so what's not to like'.
Now after experiencing 12 other sites our views remain the same, this is a good one.
For info we were in a campervan so just had a powered site, cannot comment on other accommodation they had.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Enjoyed the stay, motel studio very comfortable clean & would recommend to anyone - pitty the Whalewatch didn't happen due to bad weather & poor visibility but the rest of the stay was great. We will be back sometime soon I hope.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My family spent a night there. The family house is comfort. There's a kitchen, heater, comfort bed with the modern style decoration. We've just loved this hotel. The weather's quite cold, luckily we had heater. The kitchen's nice with cooking equipments

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 34 Beach Road, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting Kaikoura come and stay at our centrally located, award-winning Holiday Park and Motel. Just 300 metres from the town centre we are the perfect base whilst exploring Kaikoura, head out on foot to local tours, shops, restaurants and cafes. Kaikoura TOP 10 Holiday Park offers a range of quality, affordable accommodation options to suit everyone and every budget. In addition, we offer motel accommodation with a difference - relax and unwind in park surroundings with a welcoming atmosphere of open spaces, landscaped grounds and stunning mountain vistas while still enjoying the benefits of quality, comfortable motel units. . Choose from our 4-star Qualmark rated motels or our cabins or for those travelling in motorhomes we also offer sites in our 5-star Qualmark rated Holiday Park.We pride ourselves on being able to offer some of the best motel accommodation options and service in Kaikoura. Not only do we offer quality and comfort in a park-like setting but we also have excellent, modern facilities that you won’t find anywhere else in Kaikoura. Along with Wi-Fi and SKY Guest Select 50+ channels in every motel and freeview in cabins, we also have fantastic family facilities including an adventure playground with the popular jumping pillow, heated outdoor pool, private hot tub, games room, TV lounge and fun bikes for hire. With so much on offer it’s a wonderful chance for you to enjoy your holiday your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.