We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity about the Kitchen” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Shag

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lazy Shag to your Saves list
Lazy Shag
37 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pity about the Kitchen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our en suite room was quite nice. The tv lounge was good. However the kitchen is the major downfall. It is big and fairly well equipped BUT stinks as there are open bins in it. This in turn leads to an abundance of flies. They were everywhere. There was no escaping them!! The cleanliness of the kitchen is poor too, dead flies all over the walls and tea towels don't seem to be washed well.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
3
27
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Stayed at the Lazy Shag in January while travelling in the South Island. We stayed for 2 nights in a double room.
We enjoyed our stay at most of the backpackers on our way and from the description in the Lonely Planet expected this to be in line with the rest.
The backpacker is quite new and all the rooms are ensuite - which we considered a treat.
Our room was very small and dirty, the toilet was dirty and looked as if it has never been cleaned, the sheets on the bed were dirty with visible stains. No towels were provided. The toiletpaper is chained up so you can't use too much at a time.
The kitchen was also quite disgusting - the dishwashing liquid used was watered down and smelled and so did not clean the dishes well - leaving everything dirty, kitchen towels were not replaced and so were wet and smelly - and to top it all the stovetop took over an hour to heat - so cooking food was not really an option.
The TV did not work - only movies.
Internet was not free - but cost the same as in most other places.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

Small double rooms in a very central location. They all have private baths which was great but NO free internet as advertised in Lonely Planet and seen in other TripAdvisor reviews. For the price, you can't beat it. Parking included.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

Spent 3 nights here,

+ Price was ok
+ Good location
+ Free internet
+ Good kitchen & tv room

3.5/5

2.5/5

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

This was one of the better places we stayed whilst on a 2 week trip around NZ's South Island. We were driving and there were plenty of car park spaces, the room was clean but very basic, but we weren't lacking anything we needed. The en suite was clean and functional. There were 2 tvs in the lounge but neither worked as as a tv which was a shame, but there were planty of videos to choose from and comfy bean bags! The kitchen was clean and again had everything we needed. Think there are improvements being made so sure it will be even better now than when we were there!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

Stayed here for two nights at the end of November 2007 as part of a three month trip around the world.

Until we stayed here we had been in hotels and a camper van and this was the first hostel. Our budget was quite generous so we were not "back packing" but knew New Zealand would be expensive with all the activities so decided to save money by staying in a hostel.

Recommended by Lonely Planet, we were not disappointed. It is a nice property in a good location and was excellent value on our budget. Our room was an ensuite twin and was basic but clean. We did get bed linen but no duvet. The room was very cold alright and we were told the heating could be turned on but it didn't work. We just put on more clothes though!

Didn't use the TV room or the kitchen (which was big and well equipped) but the laundry was great and the internet free (not that slow but there was usually a queue).

Staff were not around that much but when they were they were friendly and helpful. It was a very laid back atmosphere and there was a good outdoor deck area with a nice enough view.

We had no difficulty with noise, luckily cos our room faced on to the deck so it could have been a problem but everyone seemed to go to bed fairly early.

Would definitely recommend it as a way to save money and if you are not too fussy but did not stay in any other hostels in New Zealand so cannot say how it fairs against others.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

Stayed here with the Kiwi Experience so if you do stay here be warned that every night 20 or so rowdy backpackers will arrive in and generally take over. The bed rooms were a good size but the sheets weren't clean. Linen wasn't provided but a duvet (no top or bottom sheet) could be hired for $2. Our room was cold. The kitchen was a good size and well equipped and it was clean. One complaint would be that the bins did not have lids so once the food bin started getting full there were a lot of flys around. There was a tv room but it was not tuned so you can only watch movies, however movie hire was free. This room was also extremely cold and there weren't enough seats. The seats available here, as in the 'lounge' next to the kitchen were very old and pretty broken as well as grimy and dirty - not especially relaxing!

On the morning we left the dorm next to us was woken up by their fire alarm going off without provocation. They had to wait until 8am for reception to arrive. At 8:15 nobody had appeared, then we spotted some movement in the office, after banging on the door the receptionist appeared and shut off the fire alarm, she could hear it before but had chosen to do nothing about it, which seemed inexplicable.

In conlcusion; it's a bed for the night and the kicthen was clean, but there are better places out there and for a similar price. Try the YHA

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — All problems mentioned above
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy Shag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Shag

Address: 37 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lazy Shag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Shag Hotel Kaikoura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Shag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.