We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sails Motel

Sails Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sails Motel
Save
You added Sails Motel to your Saves list
134 Esplanade, Kaikoura, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great quiet accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Sails is run by Deb and Ted who are very attentive. We arrived later than planned and so Deb was very worried we wouldn't get to the shop to buy food but as we had cereal with us gave us extra milk so we could have breakfast before our Albatross Encounter. She also rang the company in the morning to check what time they would actually be going out to sea without any prompting on our part. we both got seasick during the (amazing) Albatross encounter and left a do not disturb note on our door so she left a note to tell us she wouldn't close the office until 9pm as she was concerned for our welfare. We deliberately chose this motel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor - in particular the fact that it is behind other motels means it is really quiet as it is not on the roadside, and because we had read how helpful and considerate Deb is - both of these were spot on. We spent 2 nights there and were very happy with the room, facitilies, quiet and very clean room and bathroom and of course Deb and Ted. We would stay there again and it is very very close to the Encounters office and pick up for trips - so great location in Kaikoura. As a bonus Deb also pointed us to a specific motel - The Chalets Motel in Hanmer Springs and it was also perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    30
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
66
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

a very nice motel that you would probably miss when in kaikoura. It is worth looking for as it's down a driveway . You really get the personal touch when you arrive. The units are of good size and are very clean(It's important to us). It is a nice walk to town. either go along the beach or footpath. Fish & chips , go Hemi's . Its close to the main rood and opens at 5pm. The other thing we found out..was.. if you want a reasonable priced possum/merino/silk clothing...Go to a store called CRT. Its just a kilometre(could be less) north of the main shopping centre. I have been looking all over nz . most are quite expensive...

Room Tip: it's down a driveway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

In a six week tour of New Zealand Bev was the most personally concerned of all the motel owners we met. She genuinely wanted to ensure that you had a really good time in a way that matched your individual interests. The room, although small was furnished with some style, quite a rarity in motels!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Good value motel run by a very friendly couple. The motel is set back from the street and beach without views, but this is reflected in the price. It does not have wifi. Rooms clean, comfortable and well-appointed. Nothing too much trouble for owner. Not high hand but excellent value for money.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in Sails for 2 nights - overall the accommodation and Kaikoura itself were our second favourite place in NZ. The owner is very helpful and kind and gave us some goods tips about places to eat and visit in the locality. The motel itself is in a quiet location, just off the Esplanade with good facillities. If it is a clear evening I recommend a walk up Dempsey's Track to the lookout to watch the sun go down behind the mountians.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Sails motel is tucked away off the sea front in Kaikoura and is well sheltered in a lovely garden within easy walking distance of the town centre. Rooms were lovely - spacious and extremely clean. Sad I didn't have more time to sit outside and read my book! Deb was a VERY attentive host, and organised anything we needed. Driveway is very narrow so bigger cars watch out!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We started our 3 weeks holiday in NZ at the Sails Motel in Kaikoura and we couldn't have wished for a better place to get a first taste of the kiwi hospitality. The cabin we had was basic, but equipped with all the things we needed and very clean. The location is very central yet thanks to the fact that the motel is not directly at the main street also very quiet. Deb was an excellent host and provided us with all the inormation, maps, bochures etc we needed. She even recommended us a nice lunch spot in Blenheim for our onward journey.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sails Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Motel

Address: 134 Esplanade, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sails Hotel Kaikoura
Sails Motel Kaikoura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sails Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.