We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura to your Saves list
Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   154 Beach Road | PO Box 181, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Easy spot to rest for a night. Friendly staff, lovely view, quiet and restful. Bed was comfy, kitchenette useful, bathroom nice, room generally spacious. Also appreciate that the rooms are painted in bright, modern colours and have some vivacity--no boring old motel decor here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to comment, your feedback is really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    146
    21
    8
    0
See reviews for
54
280
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had a lovely room and this was great accommodation, it was on the upper floor but that meant that we had a good view of the mountains and sea. I have seen previous rooms and the lady who checked us in was really helpful and couldn't do enough for us.

It rained and hailstoned quite spectacularly during the afternoon so we got to test the heating for the first time in a 3 week trip- very efficient and much apreciated. The studio room was lovely well equipped and the en-suite was one of the best bathrooms of the 14 we had over our trip.
I could go on but its simpler to say just stay here.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs the view from the upper floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to comment, your feedback is really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a difficult motel to review as it has so much going for it on one hand and a few irritations that take the gloss off. The motel itself is a modern building and easily found. Parking is easy. We were booked in by a gentleman obviously having a bad day as he was very sour as he stomped off in front of us towards the room. From our room I could later see a lady happily checking in other guests so their reception was quite different to ours. Our room was upstairs, facing straight into the afternoon sun, with a lovely view towards the mountains. It was like a furnace and we immediately requested a fan to at least move the air around. We left the front door open as long as we could but as the stairs ended right in our doorway it was offputting to come face to face with strangers from our bed! The room itself was very nice in size and decoration. The bed was a super kingsize and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was without the new-fangled shower that others have mentioned, just a simple run of the mill variety which was excellent. However, there is no shelving in the bathroom to contain your personal bathroom necessities which was a shame. The supply of free wi-fi was wonderful (thank you so much!) and so necessary for travellers a long way from home. There was a lovely balcony outside but it was difficult to use as the motel is built around a central space and the people below obviously thought we were staring at them. Without a chair to sit and face the other direction, it was not very conducive for staying long. Aspen Court Motel is on the outskirts of Kaikoura which did not bother us one iota as we enjoy driving around and exploring towns. But if you were on foot it might be a consideration. There was a guest laundry but it closed so early at night and opened so late that for one-night stopovers like us it was impossible to use. My last thought may seem a petty one to many. This motel is so proud of their Hygiene Proramme that they give it a special heading on their website. I congratulate them on achieving this certificate and wish more would do the same. However, reading about it in your compendium was suitable but the addition of signage on the breakfast table about viruses, bacteria, germs etc while you are eating is way, way over the top. Kaikoura is a great little town and we met some lovely people here. One of the shopkeepers in town recommended the new Kaikoura Golf Course (just out of town) for dinner and it was fabulous. Aspen Court Motel is a good motel and I would use it again. But next time I would ask for a downstairs room away from staircases.

Room Tip: Downstairs room away from laundry or staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to comment, your feedback is really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was our 4th stay at Aspen Court. This motel offers a high standard of comfort, good facillities at a reasonable price. The managers are very helpful with suggestions for sightseeing and eating. The motel is close to a supermarket and good quality diners. This is one of those rare motels where I feel sorry to leave, knowing the next will not be as good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thanks for your review, your feedback is welcomed and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in April. The motel is just outside of city centre but it is completely walkable in 20 minutes and I would assume this is best during season as parking is limited in the centre.

Anyway, I had a spacious room on the top floor. In fact, it was bigger than my studio apartment in NYC. It was very modern and clean. The bed was comfortable, wifi was free and there was a kitchenette. The bathroom was also spacious although a little more storage for your toiletries would be nice but it isn't necessary. The bathroom even had underfloor heating which was a surprise. There was also guest laundry downstairs with free powder which is unusual. The staff I met was very friendly.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We only stayed one night on our way to Nelson from Christchurch and Kaikoura is an excellent place to stop over.

Aspen Court is a very comfortable Motel, well equipped and a King Sized bed that gives a very comfortable nights sleep. Pam is very helpful with ideas and magically produces a bootle of milk on check in so you can make a cup of tea.

Can definitely recommend and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just 10mins drive from Kaikoura whale watching pick up station.. Nice breakfast, perfect motel with all inroom facilities like microwave, all kitchenette amenities.. No fresh breakfast just bread butter, fruits, juice.. Clean, neat and spacious room as well spacious bathroom... No restaurant & less staff as its a motel, yet sooo clean & comfy

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura

Address: 154 Beach Road | PO Box 181, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#4 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Court Motel prides ourselves on Comfort and Cleanliness. Our commitment to hygiene has set a new high standard in the industry with our 5 star Hygiene Certificate. All rooms have Super King size beds. We offer FREE internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Court Hotel Kaikoura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.