We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in a beautiful setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura

Save Saved
You added Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   154 Beach Road | PO Box 181, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Kaikoura
China
1 review
“Comfortable stay in a beautiful setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

A cozy studio apartment with an extremely comfortable king-size bed. The motel is located just north of town, so is quiet and picturesque (although the entire town was quiet and picturesque while we were there). The view from our balcony was spectacular in the morning and evening, and the staff were very helpful in their welcome e-mail. Would definitely recommend this to other travelers staying in Kaikoura.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view and they will provide!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment. When booking online you are not always aware of where the room is positioned so we more than happy to change the room if you have a preference for a view or location within the complex. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    135
    18
    7
    0
See reviews for
47
263
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

My partner had trouble sleeping all holiday but slept for 15 hours on the super comfortable superking bed. The new owners are lovely and very helpful. We were able to do our laundry there. The shower even does a sauna ! The room is comfy and of decent size. It was the best value and most comfortable accommodation during the entire holiday. ( we stayed in 4&5 star hotels most of the week).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Pleased to here that you were well rested and relaxed for your drive home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The motel was easy to find, on the main highway just out of the main town. The room was very comfortable and clean but unfortunately didn't have a very good view. The most remarkable/memorable thing about our stay was the amazing shower - so complicated it had 2 sides of A4 instructions on how to use it. The manager was very pleasant and helpful but was leaving after several years, so don't know whether it would be any different under new management.

Room Tip: If you can manage stairs request an upstairs room so you're away from the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, Owner at Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hello caligirlUk and thank you very much for your review of our property. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness standards and you obviously appreciated that aspect of the room.

Our previous managers Kevin and Sharon left us at the end of April and it is good to hear you were treated well by them. We now have new managers in Peter and Pam whom we believe are equally as pleasant and helpful as Kevin and Sharon were.

Whilst the space age showers are unique we agree they are not everybodys cup of tea! We are removing some of them this winter to give guests an option of having either a normal shower or the dalek version!

Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed 2 weeks across the South Island and this quality modern and well equipped motel was the best priced. The rooms are of a high standard and there is little or no noise from the highway. The new owners were extra helpful providing tips and maps.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are pleased that we could add to your travel experience in a positive way and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Both my brother and our partners stayed at the above motel for three nights. We found the owners of the units very friendly and most helpful. Very impressed with the way they dealt with other overseas visitors re advising and assisting them with places to go etc.

The rooms were first class as was the staff cleaning them. Wifi was a bonus. The showers in the rooms are quite different with spa like facilities which were very relaxing. The motels are about 1km north of the Kaikoura township. We are going back to stay again soon. Very modern rooms and facilities. An excellent place to stay for "time out" Thanks again owners.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room and the rear of the complex if you wish to see and hear the sea. We found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments. We work hard to maintain our standards and to have that acknowledged is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Visiting from Australia. Situated with front views of snow capped mountains, we were doubly impressed to be given a room at the rear of the motel with uninterrupted views of the ocean. Wow wherever you look! The Aspen Court is modern and fresh with great facilities - and a very comfortable bed. All spotlessly clean. The hosts - relatively new to the motel - were friendly and helpful and could not have done more to make us feel welcome. An all round happy experience. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night and booked it last minute. The guy at check in was warm and friendly and took the time to explain where the attractions are in town - had this not have happened we would have missed the seal pup colony. Thankyou!!
The rooms are roomy with great decor. The shower was a treat and must be tried!
Only downside was we booked an ocean view room and couldn't see it from inside our room - but that's it!!
Reviews said road was busy and loud but we didn't hear any traffic or the trains
Would recommend this motel to others!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, Manager at Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to being of service again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura

Address: 154 Beach Road | PO Box 181, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Court Motel prides ourselves on Comfort and Cleanliness. Our commitment to hygiene has set a new high standard in the industry with our 5 star Hygiene Certificate. All rooms have Super King size beds. We offer FREE internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Court Hotel Kaikoura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.