We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   37 Adelphi Terrace, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 35 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent 2 nights at Fairweather Room in this comfortable and lovely B&B. Rooms are very well maintained.Julie and Kerry (thanks a lot for the crayfish, Kerry!) give all support wanted, but as all rooms have separate entrances there is enough privacy left.
We loved these gorgeous views from the garden over the ocean and the snow covered mountains- one could sit and watch there for hours.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    24
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
60
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Red Lion, PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We (2 couples) enjoyed the upper floor rooms for two nights. Julie was there to greet us, show us the rooms, give us an overview of the area's restaurants and attractions. We loved our stay there and the wonderful views of the ocean. The rooms were pristine, the breakfasts enjoyable with homemade muffins and fresh fruit salad. It was quite windy while we were there so we didn't get to enjoy the landscaped grounds as much as we would have liked, but we enjoyed the walk into town several times, as well as the lavender farm nearby. Julie and her husband made each of us feel welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed their B&B and their company.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Davids, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great rooms and location. Julie is a friendly and helpful host who homebakes muffins each day for you to take out with you and her short-bread is to die for. A graden with stunning views and beautiful roses. Just a 5 minute walk to town and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Bendamere is the nicest place we have ever stayed. Stunning views of the South Pacific and the snow-covered Kaikoura Range; rose gardens galore; a lovely lawn on which to read; and an immaculate, quiet room with a king-sized bed and a deck. Julie was a delightful hostess, sending us off with home-baked muffins and shortbread every day and full of good information about restaurants and attractions. Furthermore, the location can't be beat. Just a 5-minute walk to the town and ocean. We loved it and hope to visit again someday, if we're lucky enough to return to New Zealand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a night while travelling down the coast. The room is great. Nice and big with views across the lawn to the ocean and the mountains in the background. We were made very welcome with recommendations for restaurants etc. breakfast in the
Family kitchen with fellow guests was a nice way to start the day I would definitely recommend Bendamere

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish it could have been longer. The rooms are immaculate, the views stunning and Julie is a mother hen and superwoman rolled into one. She gave us home baking for our room and to take with us on our trips. Lovely king beds with mattress toppers.you wil not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book an upstairs room for fantastic views and a lovely balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Wonderful top class accomodation with patio doors that open onto a beautiful lawn overlooking Kaikoura and the bay.
We stayed there early spring so the Kaikoura range was covered in snow. Another stunning view from the property.
Easy access down to the town.
Not the cheapest B&B we have used but you get what you pay for and the breakfast was superb and included a muffin each to fortify you on your travels when you leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 37 Adelphi Terrace, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bendamere House Bed & Breakfast is a quality property featuring 5 ensuite rooms all with their own balcony and superb ocean and mountain views! All rooms feature Quality King Sleepyhead beds, silent fridges, air conditioners, bathrobes, full tea and coffee facilities and yummy homebaked shortbread on arrival.Free broadband internet for all guests in your room and coin operated laundry facilities on site! Our property features half an acre of lawns and rose gardens where you can sit and relax while enjoying a wine on our garden furniture and at certain times of the year catch the dolphins performing in the bay!! Minutes walk to the Kaikoura township and all sightseeing ventures. Secure off street parking and courtesy pick up and drop off to all trains/buses. Our tariff includes a delicious breakfast with fresh fruit salad, cereals, juices,freshly toasted savoury croissants, toast, honeys and spreads,tea and coffee and delicious homebaked muffins every day! Kerry and Julie have great knowledge of the area and the South Island so we are only to happy to help you plan your activities and trip further on! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.