We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place - excellent hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   191 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 35 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lena, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good place - excellent hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

we came all the way from Norway and was lucky to find this place. The service and the mangement (Admiral Creighton) was excellent. Said in short: good service is when you have more than expected. That was what we had here. Thanky you Yvonne and Tony - from Inger, Helge and Aage

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    12
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
32
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Yvonne and Tony are wonderful hosts and our stay was memorable. Tony met us at the train and helped us with our whale watch tickets. Yvonne went our of her way to find a photo of our daughter when she stayed at the Admiral Creighton on a trip in 2009.
We felt very at home and enjoyed the antics of Mollie, the resident dog, and Admiral Creighton, the very clever bird who says "good morning, darling" and I have been a good boy when Yvonne is in the vicinity. You can also watch Tony feed the trout and eels each morning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon uk
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Love it here, from the moment we were met from our coach we were made to feel special. We arrived early on the bus and we dumped our stuff before going whale watching. We were even dropped down to the office by Tony who helped rearrange our whale watching time,.
The B&B is lovely and had great character. We loved the relaxed homely atmosphere Tony and Yvonne have created. We also loved Creighton the Cockatoo and Molly the dog. We loved the views of the mountains from the back and the stream with eels, trout and ducks in the back garden, which were fed after breakfast.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and very quiet, and we had our own private bathroom opposite the bedroom and there was even a robe so we didn't have to worry about nipping to the toilet in the night.
The free Wifi was a good speed and most welcome after having to pay at most other places in NZ.
It was great to be able to help ourselves to tea and coffee whenever we wanted and to be given a complementary beer and wine was a great touch.
We mentioned to Tony we were going to hire bikes and he lent us his which was lovely and we had a great day out and rode to the seal Colony which was amazing.
Breakfast was good and consisted of fruit, cereals,toast and various home made preserves.
The only comment we could make was it was a fair walk into the centre of Kaikoura (about 20 minutes, but it was a nice flat walk and as we were given a lift to and from our Intercity bus connection we did not find it a problem, especially having the bikes to borrow.
There was a shopping complex / supermarket just down the road and it is a flat walk into Town.
So stay there you wont be disappointed. You will be well looked after, and will come away with amazing memories as we did.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatrats, Owner at Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
After spending a large part of my life dealing with the low life types in this world, first in the Justice Dept then the New Zealand Police, running an accommodation Lodge in Kaikoura has been a pleasure dealing with people from the other end of the spectrum.
Steve and Issy ( Both Nurses) have left a lasting memory of a couple who are so easy to accommodate and a pleasure to help where we were able. This well travelled couple went out of their way to ensure the experience of knowing them was a pleasure. Good luck on your future travels and thanks for your glowing report.
Yvonne & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We generally do not stay at B&Bs, but any misgivings we might have had were immediately dispelled when we arrived at the Admiral Creighton. Yvonne and Tony could not have been more wonderful and the accomodation was first class. We have no reservation in recommending the Admiral Creighton - you'll love it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

It all started on a misunderstanding due to an old Lonely Planet guide. We were supposed to stay at a Convent, but it was transformed as a University 4 years ago. Actually, the same phone number is now the one of this cute B&B owned by a very friendly couple. At the first look, you think it is a little old fashioned, but do not get stopped by that : the owners are very, very kind and friendly, and manage to create the right conditions for having all the nationalities gathering for breakfast having a very good time socializing together. This is greatly helped by the fantastic treat brought on the table for breakfast, with almost everything home-made and delicious. The advices for sight-seeing and organizing the day are very good as well. Our 10 year old son played a lot with the dog and the parrot. Overall, it was a good surprise !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We visited in New Zealand during November 2011. One of the highlights of our stay was the brief stopover at The Admiral Creighton. Its a pleasure to be able to give a totally unrestrined recommendation to a couple who seem to live just to give visitors needs evefry attention, food, accomodation, knowledge on the area.

A wonderful stay and a place to revisit again and again.

Jeff & Linda Wilkins

Room Tip: Just pick up the phone or email, nothing is too much of a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We spent 3 wonderful days in Kaikoura, staying at Admiral Creighton B&B. Such a special place, Creighton, and Molly along with their owners Yvonne & Tony were delightful and friendly hosts. We had great sleeps, wonderful breakfasts, stunning views of the Kaikoura mountains. A wonderful stay, will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatrats, Owner at Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you Noeline and Colin for such kind words, It was a pleasure to have you both staying with us. I remember a few laughs. Colin is great story teller. Folks like yourself's make having a B&B worth while. Good luck on your furture travels Regards Yvonne & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast

Address: 191 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the family originally from China,it is our luck to find Kaikoura and this Beautiful Property to live. Its a beautiful world come and enjoy some of the best with us.Four star rated the Admiral Creighton B&B is located inside the Kaikoura Township. Close to everything including the Whale Watch Departure, Restaurants and shops.Set back from the main Highway well away from the Main Trunk Railway line which runs through the heart of Kaikoura. This property offers a tranquil environment with views to the magnificent Seaward Kaikoura mountains near by.Feed the trout & huge eels & ducks in our award winning native stream gardenThe spacious living in our comfortable B&B enables us to offer services such as a small conference, family reunions, fishing parties, and the like. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.