We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room with an amazing view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nikau Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nikau Lodge to your Saves list
Nikau Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   53 Deal Street | close to State Hwy 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely room with an amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed just 1 night on our way down to Christchurch before picking up our campervan, and we were very happy with this being our last B&B in NZ this trip. They weren't too busy so got upgraded to an upstairs room had a very nice view - even more incredible the next morning when the rain went away and we could see more than a few 100m!

The rooms are nice, decent size, comfy beds. Bathrooms are fine, small shower stall but everything is clean and good water. Because it was raining, we hung out in the room a little more than expected so it was nice to have the little seating area (with the view) to have some tea or wine. The drapes are smartly placed between that area and the main area with the bed so if one wakes up earlier, can sit there w/o disturbing your partner.

Breakfast was very good - huge variety of hot options and was very tasty and filling.

Location is also nice - up on the hill but really a short walk downtown which we would have enjoyed if it hadn't been unfortunately pouring our day there.

Quentin and Jane were very nice hosts as well - had a nice chat with them before heading out to dinner and all arrangements with them before were handled very easily.

We'll stay there our next time in Kaikoura for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. A shame the weather was not kinder. Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    22
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
141
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The breakfasts in this beautifully located B&B mean there is no need for lunch. They are delicious ...& huge.
Great location adjacent to the main strip, but far enough away to be able to enjoy the tranquility of a beautiful garden & distant mountain range view..
Hosts couldn't be more personable & helpful.
Great room amenities & Bathroom ensuite.
Great value
Would certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Perhaps we should rename our Breakfast and call it "Brunch". Many thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had 3 nights at Nikau lodge which gave us lots of freedom as to what we could do in Kaikoura. When we arrived at the lodge, Jane gave us a very warm welcome, listened to our survival story past the Hari Hari river bridge and showed us around the lodge and to our room and showed us the folder with maps and restaurant info inside. The room is cozy and very clean. The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom has nice body products. We planned to do the dolphin swim and it got cancelled for the morning we planned due to rough sea conditions, so we returned to the lodge, had more rest then tried again in the afternoon.Luckily we did it! It was an amazing experience not to be missed swimming with hundreds of dolphins. It helped too that Nikau lodge is so close to everything. We often walked to the restaurants at night and back. Our favourite restaurant would have to be Tuti's. The second day we did the whale watching. It was an unforgettable experience to see sperm whales and dolphins again. On our last day we did the peninsular walk which was a great walk to see scenery and see lots of seals. Jane and Quentin helped us a lot with recommendations, including getting a fresh crayfish for lunch which was so yummy.Breakfast was wonderful with lots of options to choose from and delicious. I felt we had a really fun time there and highly reccomend the seal room. I didn't hear much traffic from the road at all and it was a luxury to have the view from our bed.

Room Tip: Seal or Dolphin room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We do agree the views are stunning. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and got to do all the trips you had planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We just spent the night at the Nikau Lodge - our last night of a three-week vacation in New Zealand. We loved the friendly hosts, and their little dog Jack. They've done a really nice job restoring the old home and running the B&B. The rooms are large with fantastic views. There are a lot of great touches. The kitchen was gorgeous and the cooked breakfast was really wonderful. It was just a quick trip through, but we would have loved to linger in the back garden, take strolls into town (which was really close) and head down to the beach. Next time! But if you're in Kaikoura, I strongly recommend that you book at the Nikau Lodge. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
It was a shame you couldn't stay longer and we do hope you can get back again one day. Many thanks for your very positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Nikau Lodge just for one night. Quentin and Jane are very friendly hosts and Quentin suggested a lot of dining options in Kaikoura. The Dolphin room was on the first floor with great views of the mountains, the beach and the highway! Unfortunately the B&B is very close to the highway and although the traffic slows down during the night I could hear the first tracks at 6 a.m. Although the bathroom was very clean the shower cabin was very small. Breakfast was fine, with continental and cooked options but you could smell the bacon all the way to the first floor. I don’t feel very comfortable giving an average review but compared to other b&b’s we stayed in New Zealand this was a bit outdated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are sorry Nikau Lodge did not meet your expectations. We have tried very hard to put photographs on our web-site that truly reflect the lodge. There are four photographs of each room that show the bed, the seating area, the view and the bathroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Nikau Lodge for 1 night while visiting Kaikoura. One of the best things about this B&B is that the owners (Quentin and Jane) are so accommodating. Quentin picked us up from the train station on our day of arrival and brought us back to Nikau. On our day of checkout, we wanted to hike the Kaikoura peninsula before heading back to the train station – Quentin took our bags to the train station for us so we wouldn’t have to worry about coming back to the house to get them. The accommodations are also top notch - our room was clean, charming, and had amazing views of the mountains and ocean! Also, we noticed that Quentin and Jane clearly put a lot of thought into how to make navigating Kaikoura easy for their guests – they had a binder in our room containing their restaurant recommendations + menus for each, various Kaikoura activities, and a map. It was an easy walk from the B&B to downtown, the ocean, and classic Kaikoura activities, such as whale watching and the peninsula hike. Breakfast was delicious and filling.

The location, quality, and hosts make this B&B an excellent value – would very highly recommend to anyone visiting Kaikoura!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Manager at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
"The perfect place to stay in Kaikoura" - Wow!! We hope we can live up to your recommendation. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

June and quentin are the best b&b Hosts I have come across anywhere, they were so friendly and fun to chat to. The b&b itself was lovely, with fantastic views of the sea/mountains. The room was comfy and there were some really nice touches, e.g. Lovely cookies in the room and really nice moisturiser in the bathroom. There was free wine and beer on offer which is always an added bonus! Breakfast was delicious. Really close to the town centre and tons of very nice restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
We really enjoyed chatting with you and feel very privileged to be your favourite B&B in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nikau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikau Lodge

Address: 53 Deal Street | close to State Hwy 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nikau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 5 minutes walk from Kaikoura's main town centre, Nikau Lodge has magnificent views of the Kaikoura Mountain Range and the Ocean. Come relax in the garden, unwind in the hot tub or just come for a good nights rest. Continental and Full Cooked Breakfast using fresh local produce is served to you in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nikau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nikau Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.