We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austin Heights is Amazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   19 Austin Street | Kaikoura Peninsula, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Austin Heights is Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

In all of our travels it would be very, very hard to find a place that is more welcoming, clean, light and friendly. I cannot speak highly enough of Lynn & John and as for the views from the rooms and dinning room, just breathtaking. Then there is the garden which is so beautifully designed and relaxing. The breakfast was much better than some of the 5 star hotels we have stayed in around the world, thank you for a truly great stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but second floor has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much Team for the lovely review! we loved your company and hope we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! The couple who run this B&B are so kind and accommodating. The rooms are nicely decorated as well as comfortable and clean. They have thought of everything from books to read, movies, a stocked kitchen and yummy breakfasts with an opportunity to meet other travelers or just have a conversation with the hosts. The view is also spectacular. The B&B is located in a quiet neighborhood on the top of a hill above all the hustle and bustle of Kaikoura's main street. This was a great place to spend a few days of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for the great compliments, was wonderful to meet you both! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, hong kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful spot with great proprietors. We arrived later on an overcast day and found the place quite easily. The Proprietors, who are a lovely and accommodating couple, helped us to feel at home instantly and even upgraded our room (based on availability). The next morning we stepped out onto the terrace to an amazing sight...you could see the whole bay with the open see, green steppe, and snow-capped peaks. Just amazing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Jon & Hui, great to meet you both. Thank you for the lovely remarks on TripAdvisor on your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at Austin Heights. A room upgrade and complimentary drink on arrival was much appreciated and a lovely way to start our weekend.
Thanks to Lynn and John for their recommendations, and amazing breakfasts in the morning! We had plenty of energy to burn enjoying the attractions Kaikoura has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you Hayley & Nick for your wonderful remarks, see you in Christchurch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Austin Heights was our first stay in our two weeks travel in the South Island of NZ, and it started this unique and very memorable experience. The room we stayed in was very spacious, comfortable and well equipped. John and Lynne, the hosts, were very kind and helpful. If by any chance we will visit Kaikoura a second time, Austin Heights will still be our first choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you both for the lovely review, much appreciated & makes it all worth while. Take care & all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Lovely friendly hosts. Clean and comfortable rooms. Highly recommended, awesome stay.
Can't wait to go back next year for the Seafood Festival and I will be staying with you again every time I am in your area. Thank you for making my visit as wonderful and special as can be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you Rose for the lovely review! We will look forward to meeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Just perfect! The location, the rooms, the service, we were all satisfied! And We had breadfast in the hosts living room, it made us feel warm and comfortable. We will choose the hotel when we visit Kaikoura again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
It was so lovely to meet you both and so pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us, thank you so much. All the best to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast

Address: 19 Austin Street | Kaikoura Peninsula, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Love Kaikoura, but hate the noise of the traffic - here's the answer. Beautiful Austin Heights is situated on the Kaikoura Peninsula where it is peaceful and commands a stunning Panoramic view of the Kaikoura Mountain ranges, Pacific Ocean & Coastline. Only a five minute drive from the town center and all local attractions. Like the Whale-watch, Dolphin & Seal Encounters, handy to the beautiful Peninsula Coastal walkway & the Seal Colony. Lovely, spacious & sunny, apartments with a lovely decor, excellent quality beds. Opening directly out onto a long balcony with a Panoramic view of the Mountains & Pacific Ocean. Own kitchenette, fridge, microwave, tea & plunger coffee facilities. Private entrances & parking space. Austin Heights is surrounded in prize-winning Gardens. Lynne & John your friendly Kiwi Hosts have 15 years experience running their B&B and will make you welcome to Austin Heights. A special continental breakfast plus free range eggs is included in tariff plus all government taxes. Free WIFI available at all times. Complimentary pick-up & deliver to the bus or train with prior notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.