We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   19 Austin Street | Kaikoura Peninsula, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 35 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Beijing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Austin Heights was our first stay in our two weeks travel in the South Island of NZ, and it started this unique and very memorable experience. The room we stayed in was very spacious, comfortable and well equipped. John and Lynne, the hosts, were very kind and helpful. If by any chance we will visit Kaikoura a second time, Austin Heights will still be our first choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you both for the lovely review, much appreciated & makes it all worth while. Take care & all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    8
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
48
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Lovely friendly hosts. Clean and comfortable rooms. Highly recommended, awesome stay.
Can't wait to go back next year for the Seafood Festival and I will be staying with you again every time I am in your area. Thank you for making my visit as wonderful and special as can be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you Rose for the lovely review! We will look forward to meeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just perfect! The location, the rooms, the service, we were all satisfied! And We had breadfast in the hosts living room, it made us feel warm and comfortable. We will choose the hotel when we visit Kaikoura again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
It was so lovely to meet you both and so pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us, thank you so much. All the best to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed for one night at Austin Heights during our 12 days South Island honeymoon and it was one of the most memorable B&B we stayed in! Lynne prepared some fresh blueberry and apple muffins for us and even got us a sweet wedding card & a bottle of sparkling wine when she knew it was our honeymoon! We were so touched and pleasantly surprised with these wonderful gestures. The rooms were really immaculately clean, had a splendid view when the skies are clear, and had their own kitchenette with microwave , sink and cutleries and also their own private entrance. Lynne also prepared some milk as well as had chocolates ready for us in the room. It was a really enjoyable one night stay at Austin Heights with the fantastic views and solitude yet close enough to town and the famous wonderful seaside BBQ.

Room Tip: We stayed at the deluxe coastal room which had a queen bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We can't recommend Austin Height enough to do it justice. From the location to the amazing clean well equipped apartments and the most welcoming friendly hosts all went to make our short stay such a pleasure. John and Lynne had thought of everything you could possibly need.
Can't wait to go back in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

What a great spot with superb views over the bay at Kaikoura. It is well place for walks round the headland yet only a few minutes from the town's amenities. The accommodation is first class with lots of little extras sometimes missing from other establishments. Lynne and John are perfect hosts and we will always remember their kind hospitallity.

Room Tip: Try the first floor fronts with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Lynne and John are the consummate hosts who made us feel welcomed and offered much advice and information regarding activities in the area.
Fantastic room! Clean, modern and comfortable. The view of the Kaikoura seaward range from the 2nd storey balcony is magnificent as is the location of the B&B on the peninsula.
Ensuring we got a hearty breakfast before venturing out to tramp the walks in the area, their recommendations on where to eat and things to do came in very helpful indeed.
Value for money! Great hosts!

Room Tip: If you are visiting during the off season, ask for the 2nd story rooms unless you have very young ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast

Address: 19 Austin Street | Kaikoura Peninsula, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Love Kaikoura, but hate the noise of the traffic - here's the answer. Beautiful Austin Heights is situated on the Kaikoura Peninsula where it is peaceful and commands a stunning Panoramic view of the Kaikoura Mountain ranges, Pacific Ocean & Coastline. Only a five minute drive from the town center and all local attractions. Like the Whale-watch, Dolphin & Seal Encounters, handy to the beautiful Peninsula Coastal walkway & the Seal Colony. Lovely, spacious & sunny, apartments with a lovely decor, excellent quality beds. Opening directly out onto a long balcony with a Panoramic view of the Mountains & Pacific Ocean. Own kitchenette, fridge, microwave, tea & plunger coffee facilities. Private entrances & parking space. Austin Heights is surrounded in prize-winning Gardens. Lynne & John your friendly Kiwi Hosts have 15 years experience running their B&B and will make you welcome to Austin Heights. A special continental breakfast plus free range eggs is included in tariff plus all government taxes. Free WIFI available at all times. Complimentary pick-up & deliver to the bus or train with prior notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.