We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   19 Austin Street | Kaikoura Peninsula, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Peterborough
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed at Austin heights in January and Lynne and John were great hosts. Their house and garden are beautiful and it is a very relaxing place to stay. Lovely comfortable bedroom, great views and excellent breakfast. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Studio bedroom on first floor looking down to the sea over roof tops - enjoyed the bottle of beer and small bottle of wine - complimentary from the fridge.
Room and bathroom very clean and well furnished.
Unfortunately the way down to the restaurantsand esplanade is down a very rough vertiginous track- not for the feint hearted especially in the evening and certainly requires a taxi for the return journey.
Hosts very friendly and continental breakfast average

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed at Austin Heights yesterday for one night. We were made welcome and felt part of the family as soon as we arrived.

The room on the upper floor was definitely 5 star and little touches such as complimentary items and free wi-fi probably pushed it higher than this.

Our hosts John and Lynne were delightful and helpful with suggestions for eating out or suggesting nearby activities, or sites to visit.

The view from the upper verandah where our room was situated was stunning and with the quiet background of this property which is outside the main area of Kaikoura it made for a very comfortable and relaxing end to a busy day driving, whale watching and sightseeing.

Thanks John and Lynne for sharing your house with us.

Room Tip: Choose the first floor balcony rooms if possible. These are up a flight of steps but the views are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in mid October in the ground-floor self contained apartment. Lynn & John have created a wonderful B&B and are obviously very thoughtful in what they do for their guests. A nice welcome touch was provision of some wine, beer and milk in the fridge and chocs too! We were the only guests but enjoyed Lynn's company over breakfast & John later in the day. The room was very comfortable and views stunning. One of our best B&B stays in NZ.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We recently toured NZ for the Rugby World Cup & booked this stay prior to a Whale Watching trip the following day. We were given a self contained apartment on the lower floor of the house, which was ideal & had everything we needed for our one night stay. The views from this place are absoultely stunning, you could never get tired of staring out of the window. Kaikoura is a beautiful place & would be in the top 3 of where we would want to live if we were to move to NZ. John & Lynn were both very welcoming & provided a great breakfast & friendly conversation & advice for our onward journey. We rarely stay in B&B's, but these became the highlight of our stay, all down to the friendly & welcoming nature of the likes of John & Lynn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights from 13th February 2010. We had an upstairs bedroom overlooking the mountains. We could not have asked for more, the room was spotless and the decoration lovely. Lynn and John have taken a lot of time and thought into the accomodation, down to wine and beer in the fridge also chocolates, much appreciated after a long journey. We had breakfast in Lynn and John's kitchen with other guests, it was really nice to listen to other peoples experience of their travels, also the breakfast was amazing, Lynn's home made jams are to die for!

We contacted Lynn before our holiday to say we would like to go Whale Watching, and how could we book this. Lynn said she would book it for us, which saved us a lot of work organizing it ourselves, and what an amazing experience it was.
Lynn also told us of a place to eat on the beach, it is an all day Barbeque which we could walk to, a bit of a walk across the fileds, but the food was excellent, both of us had the mussels and you can take your own "grog" and they also have soft drinks. After our meal we walked to the seal colony which was also amazing. If you want a excellent meal the White Morph in town is a must. All in all a lovely stay with hosts that make you feel very welcome.


Lynn also

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We took the small room on the first floor with an unattached bathroom. It was pleasant enough but cramped for two people. The hosts were friendly but we didn't really see them until the following morning.
We wouldn't stay there again. It was overpriced for the accommodation. I think the larger rooms upstairs are probably good but I would still stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast

Address: 19 Austin Street | Kaikoura Peninsula, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Love Kaikoura, but hate the noise of the traffic - here's the answer. Beautiful Austin Heights is situated on the Kaikoura Peninsula where it is peaceful and commands a stunning Panoramic view of the Kaikoura Mountain ranges, Pacific Ocean & Coastline. Only a five minute drive from the town center and all local attractions. Like the Whale-watch, Dolphin & Seal Encounters, handy to the beautiful Peninsula Coastal walkway & the Seal Colony. Lovely, spacious & sunny, apartments with a lovely decor, excellent quality beds. Opening directly out onto a long balcony with a Panoramic view of the Mountains & Pacific Ocean. Own kitchenette, fridge, microwave, tea & plunger coffee facilities. Private entrances & parking space. Austin Heights is surrounded in prize-winning Gardens. Lynne & John your friendly Kiwi Hosts have 15 years experience running their B&B and will make you welcome to Austin Heights. A special continental breakfast plus free range eggs is included in tariff plus all government taxes. Free WIFI available at all times. Complimentary pick-up & deliver to the bus or train with prior notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.