We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, great view, friendly owners!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments to your Saves list
Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   126 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Superb location, great view, friendly owners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The location was superb, walking distance to nearby restaurants with a great front view of the ocean right from our balcony above the office. Our 2 cosy nights in a spacious 2 bedroom unit complete with washing machine & dryer, well equipped kitchen was well worth the long drive from Methven. Parking our car was a breeze which was just below our unit. Mr Graeme , the owner is a wonderful & humorous host who gave us plenty of advice where to spend our time. His reccomendation to watch the baby seals at the waterfall & deep sea fishing & catching crayfish with his old friend, Mr Gerard was an unforgettable experience & full of adventure! Thanks a zillion, Mr Graeme for your warm hospitality. We plan to return in near future for a longer stay!

Room Tip: Our unit was the furthest away from the main road so we had peaceful sleep. The upstairs units have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We only ended up staying here because our booking wasn't honoured at Waves on the Esplanade. As it turns out I'm glad it worked out that way as you get the same for less.

In short, if you are looking for a good value appartment in the quiet end of town, but ideally suited to walk to Dolphin/Albatros Adventures, and the Kaikoura peninsula, look no further. The rooms are clean, well equipped and parking is a doddle. The owner Graeme is full of helpful advice and kiwi humour.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Wouldnt hesitate to recommend this accommodation. We had the very front upstairs 2 bdrm apartment (No.22). The gentleman that served us was quite a character and just added to our overall experience he couldnt have been more helpful. It comes at a price but the apartment lacks for nothing...a different view from three separate balconies, full stylish kitchen, comfortable lounge, very comfy beds, sky tv and a spa. Directly opposite the ocean about a 2 minute drive to the main part of town/shops.
Excellent central location for Kaihoura's attraction. Only disappointment was not having more time to spend there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Our apartment was on the first floor and had a good side view of the sea. It was clean ,modern and very well equipped. We had a living/dining/kitchen area and two bedrooms and shower room. We could easily walk to the village centre to the restaurants but instead used the excellent kitchen facilities and ate on our balcony enjoying the view.The bed was comfortable and it was so quiet we could hear the sea. Our hosts were very welcoming and friendly which really enhanced our stay. I would definately stay here again .

Room Tip: First floor as near the sea as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed for two nights in this brilliant accommodation. Very spacious with all mod cons. Graeme welcomed us in and came to our rescue with a hacksaw when we realised we had lost the key to our baggage locks. He even gave us another one to replace it. Kiwis are so friendly. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The apartments closest to the sea front obviously have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Our stay at the waterfront apartments was wonderful Graeme and Mandy were the perfect hosts making sure that all our needs were met. The Apartments were clean and spacious. Dishwasher and washer and dryer are included. We had the end closest to the water and the view was spectacular. We felt so at home there and truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We have just travelled throughout both islands and this was by far the best place we stayed at. Our two bedroomed apartment was clean, spacious and well equipped (including a washing machine and dishwasher). It was pretty near to the main road but it isn't busy so this wasn't a problem. The owners, Graeme and Mandy, were very helpful and friendly.

It was great value and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments

Address: 126 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, modern 1 and 2 bedroom courtyard or balcony apartments with stunning sea and mountain views. Only 50 metres to the beach, 100 metres to Dolphin Encounter, Albatross Encounter, award winning cafes and restaurants and a 2 minute drive to Watch Watch and town. Located on the sea edge of the famous Peninsula Walk. Executive double spa bath, access and family apartments. Apartments all have a fully self-contained kitchen (stove top, oven, rangehood, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, toaster, kettle, plunger coffee machine), in-room laundry (washer/dryer), 50+ channels on SKY LCD TV, wireless Internet access, super king and twin bedrooms, double glazing, air conditioning/heat pumps, electric blankets, hairdryer, alarm clocks, a private balcony or a private gated courtyard to enjoy the views, indoor and outdoor dining settings, free on-site parking. .Continental breakfasts available for purchase. 2 Studio units with kitchenette, ensuite, Queen or King bed, 50+ Sky channels at complex rear - perfect for a quiet restful overnighter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Apartments Kaikoura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.