We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts, beautiful property but location/SH1 lets it down (for us personally)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fyffe Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fyffe Country Lodge to your Saves list
Fyffe Country Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   458 State Highway 1 | Peketa, Kaikoura 7374, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Swanley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts, beautiful property but location/SH1 lets it down (for us personally)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Lodge for one night recently, out of an original booking of 3 nights.

Chris and Colin are lovely, very relaxed and take life in their stride which is really refreshing and typically kiwi from our experience over the past 3 weeks.

We were upgraded to the Fyffe Suite from the Aston Suite which was a lovely gesture. Chris also actioned my request to have a bottle of wine and some flowers awaiting us for my partners 40th birthday. She arranged this perfectly which was great.

The property is very pretty and characterful with large open spaces in the dining and sitting areas. The breakfast that was served was a basic spread, but tasty.

On the downside for us personally, the property suffers from too much road noise, but we are used to living in a more rural environment. If you are from the city, you may not be so bothered by road noise, but it was far too loud for us and thus we checked out after first night, which Chris was very understanding of.

Another issue, after the road noise, is the price. Whilst the Fyffe Suite is fantastic and spacious, at NZD 600+ for that room (although we paid NZD 465 in line with Aston Suite) it is around NZD 200 per night too expensive looking at other local accommodation, when quality of finish, decor etc are taking into consideration.

This is a beautiful lodge and if location and road noise are not key drivers for you, Chris and Colin will look after you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    8
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

This was a real find - we had a great stay in this beautiful place. It has an amazing view of the hills and mountains in the distance through a manicured rose garden.
The hosts were charming and attentive, with nothing too much trouble. We quickly felt very much at home.
We relaxed with a glass of Marlborough wine in the garden in the sun, followed by a delicious three course meal.
Highly recommended to anyone looking for a treat in Kaikoura.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

I visited as a weekend away with my partner. The host were lovely and welcoming. The general decor is a bit old fashioned and a waste of space. For instance on our King size bed, there were 8 decor pillow all looking pretty but when you get them all off you're left with 1 pillow each! In addition, the noisey road and the distance away from kaikoura centre is not ideal. It was NOT what i expected for a the price you paid. Although the guest were pleasant, we would not go back there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cacr, Owner at Fyffe Country Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Thank you for your review. I was somewhat saddened to see you could not enjoy this magnificent construction. Fyffe Country lodge would be one of the most expensive constructions in New zealand for its size. The rammed earth blocks are hand made on site and the cedar shingles are all imported from Canada and hand split. The decor is in keeping with the period. Most rooms have linens on the beds which are between $2000 - $3000 per bed. Double glazing or special window glass can be found throughout the buildings. The highway can be exceptionally quiet or since the Christchurch earthquake busier as the city tries to rebuild and products transported.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

We were disappointed immediately on arriving to see that this Country Lodge was right next to one of the busiest highways in the country. How sad to build an "architecturally designed lodge" next to a main arterial highway where heavy trucks drive past 24 hours a day. The view from the garden and rooms of the mountain ranges is stunning, but sitting in the garden as the trucks roared by was not really what we had in mind when I booked a "country lodge." If the place had only been build a few hundred meters back from the road behind a shelter belt of some sort. Tragic really.

I would advise anyone with children to think seriously about staying somewhere else. The menu in the restaurant consisted of fairly elaborate dishes, all of which would be wasted on our 6 year old. When we asked if they had anything more simple for children, we got a lecture from the hostess about how health conscious New Zealand was, and that serving fried, unhealthy fast food to children was tantamount to poor irresponsible parenting - a response to that effect if not literally those words. Our graceless hostess offered us no alternative, so hungry and tired - miles from the nearest town, and after alcohol had been consumed - we ordered something from the menu for our son. As we had suspected, he left it largely untouched, and we later - like the irresponsible parents that we are - placated his hunger pangs with some Mars bars we had in our luggage - I would normally have asked the kitchen to deep fry them steeped in beer batter - as is our barbarian custom - but dared not ask for fear of further rebuke and chastisement. We ate our bland meals, left the unpleasant local wine, and fled to the privacy of our room as fast as was humanly possible.

The room was indisputable very fine, with a lovely view, but was perhaps a little too "delicate" with the creme carpet and bedding linen for a family with children; we would not have been concerned, as our son is a well behaved and seasoned traveler, but our hostess seemed concerned, which did not exactly put us at ease.

We also found the lodge very difficult to find, as the directions of the website were very poor at the time, but I can see that they have since been improved. But at the time it caused us some distress and driving back and forth, after a long drive.

Thankfully we had a wonderful day watching dolphins the next day, so our disappointing stay was quickly forgotten - well perhaps not, as here I am writing this review....

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cacr, Owner at Fyffe Country Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Thank you for your review. Had this guest researched our property he would have discovered
that our property is not suitable for children under 12 years of age. In the restaurant the guest would have been offered a smaller portion of what adults would have had from the menu.
Our restaurant focus is on natural unprocessed foods where possible, vegetables are lightly steamed. A microwave is only ever used to warm or melt a product The lodge does not have a deep fryer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

The Lodge owners couldn't have been nicer. The breakfast and DINNERS here were some of the best we had in New Zealand. The room had a separate sitting room and was huge and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Really warm welcome from Chris & Colin - nothing was too much trouble. Dining room was quiet but food & service were first class. Rooms in main building were exceptional. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

This place is brilliant, and the hosts Chris and Colin are the nicest people you could ever meet. We had a great time during our stay, and a few chats in the gorgeous courtyard with our hosts. Great location, beautiful situation, lovely food, and brilliant service. Also best seafood chowder in town! Thanks Chris & Colin - we really enjoyed our stay, and our little chats with you both. Josh & Emma

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fyffe Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fyffe Country Lodge

Address: 458 State Highway 1 | Peketa, Kaikoura 7374, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fyffe Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fyffe Country Lodge is a luxury lodge with National Awards for the Restaurant. It has a 4 Star + Qualmark grading. The propety is a Kaikoura Landmark property catering to the upper end of the FIT market. The lodge is licensed - the rooms are all beautifully decored with expensive linens and private beautiful bathrooms. Located just 5 minutes from the world reknown whalewatching activities of Kaikoura. A special wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Fyffe Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fyffe Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.