We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hosts EVER!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fyffe Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fyffe Country Lodge to your Saves list
Fyffe Country Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   458 State Highway 1 | Peketa, Kaikoura 7374, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Luxury Accomodation
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Hosts EVER!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

This place is brilliant, and the hosts Chris and Colin are the nicest people you could ever meet. We had a great time during our stay, and a few chats in the gorgeous courtyard with our hosts. Great location, beautiful situation, lovely food, and brilliant service. Also best seafood chowder in town! Thanks Chris & Colin - we really enjoyed our stay, and our little chats with you both. Josh & Emma

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stayed at Fyffe Country Lodge for two nights as a much-needed mini-break from busy working lives. The Mount Fyffe Suite was huge, splendidly furnished and supremely comfortable. Chris and Colin did everything possible to help us relax and enjoy our stay with them. We sat outside chatting to them in the pretty sheltered garden looking across to the mountains, sipping an excellent wine, before eating the wonderful dinner they had prepared for us. We were delighted by the dishes which featured local produce, especially fish, and home-grown vegetables, everything fresh, full of flavour and beautifully presented. Also, we welcomed being able to eat 'in-house' and in such lovely surroundings. The asparagus and cheese omelettes at breakfast were excellent, too. Top marks for serving espresso coffee! Then, after exploring the town and doing the Peninsula Walk, we realised that the Fyffe Lodge accommodation and fine dining restaurant are far better than anything else in Kaikoura. There are motels galore and plenty of cafes and casual eateries but nothing else remotely in the same class. All in all, our visit gave us a luxurious experience and left us completely refreshed. Thanks, Chris and Colin.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murchison, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

My girlfriend and I spent 2 lovely nights at the Fyffe Country Lodge.
I have traveled a lot, so it takes a lot to impress me - and I was impressed!
The lodge is a very attractive facility. Our room was immaculately presented and spotlessly clean. Chris & Colin (the hosts) were extremely obliging - nothing was too much trouble. From recommending restaurants in town and then booking it for us to cooking pancakes for us for breakfast.

If you're heading to Kaikoura, do yourself a favor and stay here!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Sadly as time permitted we only had 1 night at the Fyffe Country Lodge, we would have liked to have stayed longer. A lovely country comfort lodge with luxurious rooms & set in beautiful gardens.
The seafood chowder was a highlight of our evening meal, in the onsite award winning restaurant.
Our hosts Christine & Colin made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed three nights at the Fyffe Country Lodge in Kaikoura, during a two week stay in New Zealand. Although when we first arrived we were surprised it was about 10 minutes outside of town, we quickly got over that. Not only did Chris and Collin help us (and drive us) to rent a car to get in and out of town (which our travel agent failed to do), they were the most gracious of hosts our entire visit, recommending places for us to visit off the beaten path when our whale watch tour got canceled, etc. The hotel and grounds were gorgeous and very welcoming. The room was spacious and clean. Collin is a great cook and his seafood chowder is a must try! Even if you don't stay there, I would recommend eating there for dinner one night. As I said, the town is an easy 10 minute drive from the location and it is completely worth it to stay in such a unique, welcoming place. You can really tell the owners take pride in their establishment and helping their guests have a great time.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

We stayed here on our first 2 nights in New Zealand at beginning of our 19 day holiday. When we arrived we were greeted warmly by Chris and Colin and shown to our beautifully appointed room in the main building. This room also had a sitting room area and a very large and well appointed bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable. We overlooked the garden (delightful) and in the distance the mountains. The sitting room windows faced out towards the main road. We did not have any problems with road noise at all and slept extremely well without disturbance on both nights. We can recommend staying in for the evening meal - Colin prepared an excellent meal for us on both nights. They have a very good selection of wines. Breakfast although not lavish was certainly more than adequate with a selection of cereals, fruit and cooked food should you wish it.
We enjoyed our stay here and went out to Kaikora to do the whale watch and were very successful indeed, despite a 1 metre swell on the day, sighting 2 sperm whales.
We would certainly return to this lodge again in the future.
Chris and Colin were delightful hosts and made us feel warmly welcomed and were happy to point us in the right direction for things to do, other than the whale watch we had selected.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

We had booked for 3 nights but only stayed 1. Description very misleading as you have to cross one of the busiest roads in the country to get to the beach. Appalling bathroom. Well below standard breakfast. Very unpleasant attitude when we cancelled the rest of our stay. Moved to the White Morph Motel in Kaikoura which was fantastic.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cacr, Manager at Fyffe Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2008
Fyffe Country Lodge is a Qualmark 4Star +
lodge (missing their 5 stars by 3 points)
Qualmark does not grade lightly. So this immediately tells you that this property is certainly up there. The only thing this guest found unpleasant was that he had to pay a cancellation fee as he had booked for 3 nights and stay only one night. What he really wanted was a property that had cooking facilities and obviously didn't realise that properties that have a restaurant don't usually have cooking facilities in the room. The day after he checkout I bumped into him in the Kaikoura New World with his trolley full of
produce. As lodge owners for 16 years we certainly know how to deal with all situations and there was certainly no unpleasentness
as suggested by this guest. The bathroom
in his room (built only 5 years ago) is all tiled


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fyffe Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fyffe Country Lodge

Address: 458 State Highway 1 | Peketa, Kaikoura 7374, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fyffe Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fyffe Country Lodge is a luxury lodge with National Awards for the Restaurant. It has a 4 Star + Qualmark grading. The propety is a Kaikoura Landmark property catering to the upper end of the FIT market. The lodge is licensed - the rooms are all beautifully decored with expensive linens and private beautiful bathrooms. Located just 5 minutes from the world reknown whalewatching activities of Kaikoura. A special wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fyffe Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fyffe Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.