We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waves was all they claimed it was and more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura to your Saves list
Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Perth
1 review
“Waves was all they claimed it was and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

We stayed in apartments 1 and 8. They were really lovely and had everything we needed for our stay. Comfy beds, clean throughout , spacious and well furnished with a good serviceable kitchen. They were only a five minute walk from the town, so well located. The views were sensational. Our hosts were friendly and helpful. Yes there is cheaper accommodation available but if you want to capture the essence of this beautiful town you need the views and you pay for views!

Marian

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    37
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
137
123
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

I wasn't expecting much of the apartment we rented based on what I saw from the internet, but we were happy to find a beautiful apartment with the most amazing views when we arrived. Request a 3rd floor apartment for the best views. Great location, just a few minutes' drive from the main street, and we were able to walk to the dolphin swimming office.

The washer/dryer was also extremely useful, and the manager was very accommodating - we were able to have a late check out so we could shower after our swim with dolphins in the morning. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

We feel lucky that we chose Waves on the Esplanade. Kaikoura is a pretty quiet place, and is spread out along the coastline. Waves was right in the middle of other motels & apartments and most the restaurants were close by. The units seemed to all have beautiful views, they were well equipped, clean, comfortable, and warm. The highlight of the spot though is that Liz, the Manager, is such a warm helpful person - she really made our stay in Kaikoura special.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for one night during our honeymoon, and this was hands-down our best hotel experience in all of New Zealand. Damer came and met us at the train station, drove us around town - and even picked up some groceries for us! - before bringing us back to our spacious, well-kept apartment with an absolutely mesmerizing ocean view. Now admittedly, we may have been getting a bit of "honeymoon treatment," and it was off-season - so your mileage might vary a bit - but we had a fantastic experience from start to finish. These are two of the nicest, most hospitable innkeepers anyone could hope to encounter. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WavesKaikoura, Manager at Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Hi Guys

Thanks so much for your feedback - hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon. Just wanted to say that although it was our quieter season we do as much of this as we can for anyone whatever the time of year :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

The accomodation was excallent we stayed in the apartment right on the front so the views we're amazing. The interior of the apartment was modern and spotless. The owners were so friendly and very helpful, helping us organise an alternative boat trip as ours fell through. Go and stay here, for location and accomodation you won't find better in Kaikoura.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We were only in Kaikoura for one night and booked these apartments as they looked so nice in the photos on their website. The photos didn't lie and the views and rooms were exactly as described. They appeared fairly new or had been redecorated quite recently as everything in the apartment was pristine.
The location is great if you have fantastic weather as there is a balcony which you could sit out on - it does overlook the road so better to be in apartments further towards the back - you can check their plan to see which one you are booking - but the sea is beyond which would be fantastic. As long as the weather is sunny and warm.
Unfortunately it was neither when we were there and so it isn't such a nice location. To walk to the bars and restaurants in the town - I say town it is more of one small strip of shops, bars and restaurants - is a good 10-15 minute walk which is fine if it isn't raining but not if it is.
We decided to have dinner in a restaurant on the other side of the apartments - going away from the town which was only a few hunderd metres away and was recommended by both the owner and in the book in the room. However both failed to mention that it closed on a Monday night and so we walked there for nothing!
Would be great for a family though - very spacious with a large lounge and open plan kitchen which had everything in it including a dishwasher and cooker. Even a washing machine in the bathroom and dryer which was really handy.
2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms (one is an ensuite off of one of the bedrooms) so it is fine if you are 2 friends or 2 couples sharing.
You have your own parking space and milk is provided. As this only cost about £50 for one night it was good value. It was just a shame that the weather was bad so we didn't fully appreciate it.
Service was fine - nothing special but adequate and it was quite easy to find - just drive through the town and it is on the main road just as you head out.
Would stay again but only in good weather. There is nothing to do in Kaikoura unless the sun is shining!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

Modern, well furnished and fantastic views of the sea. The apartments are huge, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, with all the in room facilities you’d expect plus a dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer. Each apartment has a balcony with tables and chairs so you can eat out with a lovely view of the ocean. There was an allocated parking space underneath the apartments for your car.

The dolphin encounter base is close to the apartment, the whale watch base a 5 minute drive and it is a 10 minute walk to the town centre where the majority of the restaurants are.

These apartments are privately owned and let out so there is one locked cupboard in the main bedroom.

The only fault I could find is the sign in the kitchen asking you not to cook smelly foods (e.g. curries) for the benefit of the guests that follow you, ok it is considerate but a bit too regulatory?

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura

Address: 78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#1 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves apartments all have two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The main bedroom has a king-size bed and an ensuite bathroom, and the second bedroom can be either a second king-size bed or twin single beds.The second bathroom contains full laundry facilities.All apartments have a fully equipped kitchen opening out to a spacious dining and living-room area.Large glass doors open up for outdoor dining on a large private balcony with views to the sea.Each apartment has a DVD player, stereo system and Sky TV for guest entertainment.FREE Wi-Fi (200MB) is available along with the use of a laptop should you require that.For outdoor pursuits, we have available sea kayaks, bikes, skateboards and other sports equipment for hire. In the evening you can take a stroll along the beach or into town, which is just 5 minutes away.We have an outdoor spa and BBQ area that is private and relaxing. A minute's stroll along the waterfront will bring you to 'Cafe Encounter' where you can enjoy award-winning café-style food. Breakfast from 7am.Tennis courts are just a two-minute walk away.Skate park — you can view it from your balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On The Esplanade Kaikoura Hotel Kaikoura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.