We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and lovely people.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Inn Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anchor Inn Motel to your Saves list
Anchor Inn Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   208 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and lovely people.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We had a two night stay at the charming Anchor Inn. Our room was large, light filled and spotlessly clean. The room had a kitchenette, dining table, lounge, small TV with some cable channels, and dvd & video players (discs/tapes available at the office). We were at the back of the complex, but still had a view over the snow capped mountains which surround Kaikoura. Pauline, one of the owners, was most helpful in suggesting things to do and places to go/eat. Weather stopped the whale watch boats but we were able to take a flight whale spotting. (saw dolphins and a large Sperm Whale). We ate at White Morph, 42 degrees S (both excellent, but 42 was cheaper) and the Pier Hotel, all recommended by Pauline. We even left some laundry in our room, which Pauline organised to be sent to our home! Kaikoura is a top spot, and the Anchor Inn is a top place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    77
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
150
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

As Americans, we tend to think of motels as slightly shabby, utilitarian places where you spend the night just to spend the night.
Not The Anchor Inn.
The rooms are special, beautifully kept-up, with efficient kitchens, lovely baths and--many of them---views out to the sea. (I've attached a photo showing the scene from our small patio),
If all I could talk about was the hominess and comfort of the Inn, that would be enough to demand a rave.
But...there's also Keith, one of the owners.
I don't understand how he can remain so placid, so kind, when faced with the stupidity of guests...like me.
Stumbling out of bed before an early-morning whale watch, I put the coffee pot on the electric stove and headed to the shower--when I heard my wife yell, "What did you do?"
What I'd done was put the PLASTIC pot (meant to be hooked to an electrical cord) on one of the burners. The pot was melting into a gooey mess. We turned on the over-stove vent to stop the fire alarm from sounding, and as soon as I could went to inform Keith of my...mistake.
His reaction: "Don't worry; these things happen". !!.
He said the plastic would scrape off the sealed glass cooktop and he had plenty more pots. He wouldn't even let us pay for the damage. I've never had an experience like that. We were speechless.
If for no other reason, we plan to visit the Anchor Inn when we return to New Zealand--which we will. But as I said at the beginning, there are plenty of other reasons to schedule a stop at The Anchor Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We had a studio apartment overlooking the ocean. The motel itself is well run, clean/tidy and has everything you could need for a short stay.

The motel itself is located at the quieter end of town away from the main highway (and its rumbling trucks). That said it's only a 10 minute walk to the main part of town and its restaurants and bars.

Kaikoura is a great spot. We can highly recommend the whale watching tours that are bookable from the main Railway Station. The staff at the Anchor Inn helped us to check availability and whether the tour we were on was running (they don't run when the weather is awful - and the sea can be pretty rough around Kaikoura apparently)

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tustin, CA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

Great Location. Large room with kitchen. Comfortable sitting area. Right on the breaking waves and very close to restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

Everything about the motel was great. Perfect location with views of the Pacific, which is only steps from your door. Very clean, large and well furnished rooms. Nice bathroom and good shampoo. Very nice staff who called the dolphin encounter several times to see if the trip was cancelled (it was), which allowed us to stay in the room and delay checking out.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

Stayed one night at this lovely motel. Great room with stunning view. 5 minute walk from most of the pubs, cafes but we quite liked that. We had a super meal at the White Morph restaurant ( Better to book ) 3 great courses and a bottle of wine all for £35 a head which we thought was fantastic value. Kaikoura is a beautiful place and really worth a visit .... so is this motel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,England
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
251 hotel reviews
Reviews in 235 cities Reviews in 235 cities
391 helpful votes 391 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

We had a two bedroomed apartment, as others have said the crashing waves make a background to your sleep. We were comfortable in the slightly upmarket but standard motel which is right opposite the ocean and within minutes drive of lots of wild life attractions and also near the main highway.Everything there we needed, friendly welcome.

  • Liked — convenient location
  • Disliked — everything was fine
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Motel

Address: 208 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anchor Inn Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Inn is a modern and stylish motel superbly situated on the Kaikoura waterfront with most rooms enjoying magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean and the stunning Kaikoura Ranges.Our award-winning motel offers a range of studios and family units which are spacious and well-appointed, fully self-contained, climate controlled and double-glazed for your total comfort and enjoyment.The Anchor Inn holds a 4+ Qualmark star rating and a Tripadvisor certificate of excellence.We provide a guest laundry, wireless internet, Sky's 50+ channels and an extensive DVD library. Secure off-street parking is provided in our enclosed courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Anchor Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Kaikoura
Anchor Motel Kaikoura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.