We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Inn Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anchor Inn Motel to your Saves list
Anchor Inn Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   208 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great unit, good amount of space. Included a TV with sky, also a DVD player plus a DVD library at reception. Beach facing rooms - being able to hear crashing waves from the room was very pleasant. The motel is past the main town so there isn't much traffic, road noise isn't an issue. Couple minutes drive one way to the town, and a couple minutes to a seal rookery in the other direction. Only issue was some loud 'settling' noises during the night that made sleeping a bit disturbed. Friendly owners, well equipped unit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    71
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
131
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We rented a 1 bedroom unit for our family of three including a little child.

What I loved:
1 The location:
- Right in front of the ocean with magnificent sea views (would definitely be worth paying a little extra for beach facin units)
- Close enough to the town center (a 3 minute drive)
- Unlike many motels in Kaikoura which are on the main highway, this one is nicely tucked in on the Esplanade. We never heard any of the road noise or train noise which many reviewers have complained about in reviews of accommodation close to highway/train line
- There is a small children's park right across the road on sea side, which makes the place child friendly

2- Space: The size of the room was very generous. Definitely above average compared to other places we have stayed in NZ.

3- Quality of construction: Really well built and clean. We have not stayed anywhere else in Kaikoura, but by the looks, this was definitely the best place on Esplanade.

4- Attitude of owners was really welcoming and nice

What I would have loved to see:
1- A few more 'bells and whistles' in the washrooms. They were clean but just a wee bit basic for 4star+ rated accommodation (no big deal though)
2- Appliances could be a bit better. Our TV screen was too small for the room (though the room was BIG). The microwave was small as well. We were on a chill out type holiday where we just wanted to spend some time together in a nice location, watch movies, eat home cooked meals etc. Slightly better appliances would have definitely made it better.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the Anchor Inn overnight while on a road trip around NZ. It was a lovely place to stop for the night - the rooms were clean and comfortable and the fact the waves were breaking just across the quiet street was fabulous. Staff were friendly and happy to answer any questions we had about the area / things to do etc. They even have their own DVD library for guests who want to spend a quiet night in. Would definitely recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seberang Jaya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Sea facing, comfortable, excellent beds & pillows, Spot clean, well equipped kitchen, well furnished with a living area, dinning zone, kitchen, bathroom/toilets on the ground floor, a master bedroom ( with a balcony ) and a kids room upstairs, living area had a terrace/patio to relax on, study table to do your work, free wifi ( with a 2 hrs limit ), centrally located with restaurants, supermarkets all nearby, very helpful manageress ( Pauline - Thank you so much !! ), ample parking, organized bathroom with a dual entrance to the toilet to provide better efficiency of usage....this was one of the complete places I liked on this trip to NZ ( SI ).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We use this motel complex every six weeks to stay when we go to Kaikoura for work. They are lovely clean spacious units. Would recommend staying there if in Kaikoura overnight or a couple of days. Craig who ownes the motel is always helpful and knowledgeable about where to eat or where is new to eat.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Traveling during the winter months in New Zealand can be challenging, however, the upside of this is the rates are reasonable and staying at the Anchor Inn was the bright spot in our stay in Kaikoura during some very rainy dismal weather. We first called and were greeted by a friendly voice and offer to come look at the room if we wanted before deciding. Upon entering the room, there was no decision to make, it was warm, very clean and cozy. Stayed in a room with upstairs and down, both had wonderful french doors looking out to the ocean. Innkeeper was very welcoming and friendly. Would love to go back in the summer. Thanks for making our stay enjoyable and comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We wanted to have a look at the rooms prior to booking in. We had a chouce and they were more than happy for us to have a look ooffering us a choice of rooms. We weren't sure how many nights but this also wasn't a problem. We had a great stay; they were very friendly & no request a problem - even helping us out when we were working & having problems with a word docs. They were very helpful with lots in information on where to go for each request we had, incluidng Blenheim & where to stop for coffee on the way back to Chch.
The room we had was immaculate & cleaned each day; great attention to detail the small things like paper towles in the kitchen & glad wrap made a big difference.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Motel

Address: 208 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anchor Inn Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Inn is a modern and stylish motel superbly situated on the Kaikoura waterfront with most rooms enjoying magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean and the stunning Kaikoura Ranges.Our award-winning motel offers a range of studios and family units which are spacious and well-appointed, fully self-contained, climate controlled and double-glazed for your total comfort and enjoyment.The Anchor Inn holds a 4+ Qualmark star rating and a Tripadvisor certificate of excellence.We provide a guest laundry, wireless internet, Sky's 50+ channels and an extensive DVD library. Secure off-street parking is provided in our enclosed courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Anchor Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Kaikoura
Anchor Motel Kaikoura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.