We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Irish pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donegal House

Donegal House
1 Schoolhouse Road, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 42 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real Irish pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Fantasitc meal deal of $15 for lamb roast so good we came back the second night to find they'd sold out. Their pork roast for $15 was awesome too so I had that. They also sold my favourite Bundaburg gingerbeer. They had a large open log fire place - very cosy warm. Great staff.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kaikoura, null, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

the standard roast we waited 55 minutes for our meal and the place was not very busy when the food finally made to our table the veges were cold there was no crackling with the pork roast even though we ask for it when we ordered and 15 dollars for a shot of Sambuca is way over the price it should have I will not dine there again

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Proprietor needs to visit Ireland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Idea was great- a motel-like accomodation, nice grounds & decent rooms, but skip the "pub". Food was OK, if not Irish, but the noise made it impossible to enjoy it or our companions.
Reason: they believe a pub needs music...OK, only theirs was noisy (over-amplified), lots of Beatles-type, no Irish music or musicians. Disappointing, as I expected at least to finish the meal with a shot or two of Black Bushmill's...nobody in our party lingered.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“disappointed party of 8 adults/5 kids”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

have on many occasions visited this pub/restuarant when passing through kaikoura,very disapointed on easter monday that kitchen had closed at 2pm for lunch,we arrived at 2.05pm....however we where served alcohol when food was no longer available....bar snacks where also not made available......donegal house missed out on a very large lunch order,and more importantly future custom....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Donegal House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Visited Donegal House in March 2013. It was off the beaten track but set among a beautiful garden setting - perfect for weddings. On a sunny day it would be a lovely place to sit outside and have a few drinks and lunch - but on an overcast day it wasn't quite the same. The staff were very friendly and there were some Irish Jokes in the pub that make a visit there well worth it. They do have accommodation but we weren't staying but it looked a good place to stay and we would recommend visiting it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donegal House also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Donegal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donegal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.