We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stop on tour.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kincaid Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kincaid Lodge
Save
You added Kincaid Lodge to your Saves list
611 Main North Road, R.D.1, Kaikoura, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best stop on tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Driving up to the house I wondered if we had come to the wrong place as it looked so small from the road, how wrong first impressions can be. Inside the lodge is fantastic and very tastefully decorated. The room was spacious, comfortable with a beautiful view of the mountains, the common rooms were warm and well equipped. Jessica and Greg were very welcoming and helpful with anything we wanted. Greg drove us into Kaikoura for our evening meals and helped us with choices of restaurants, breakfast was excellent. First class and a definite revisit when we return to New Zealand.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We wanted a base in Kaikoura for 6 nights and like others before us, read the reviews of Kincaid Lodge with a touch of cynicism. Can anywhere really be that good? Still, we thought, if it is even half as good as it sounds, it is perfect for us. Half as good? It was twice as good and so much more!!! Greg and Jessica have created the perfect recipe and it very soon feels like you are staying with favourite friends. From the warm welcome when we arrived, our cases whisked off before we had time to blink, to the moment we left, nothing was too much trouble. Jess handed us a pager, "ring any time, I will see that Greg comes running" she joked.

We had a LOT of fun during our stay and loved swapping stories and much laughter with Jess and Greg. After a day of exploring and sightseeing, we would return to the Lodge to be greeted with wine, nibbles and chatter about the days events. The weather was usually perfect to linger on the verandah outside of our beautifully appointed room, overlooking snow capped mountains and gorgeous gardens and if the evening turned cooler we would relocate to the comfy lounge and the log burning fire. Between asking about your day, Greg or Jess would offer advice on the local restaurant selection and ensure you had a dinner reservation for the best table! The selection of top restaurants in Kaikoura was impressive and we were never disappointed by the quality or variety of choice. Getting there was too easy with Greg always offering to drive us the 6km into town, delivering us to the doorstep of our chosen restaurant! On return from dinner, in the unlikely event you needed more nourishment, there was always a welcoming tray of nibbles and chocolate to greet you and if that wasn't enough, you could delve into the bottomless barrel of home made biscuits or help yourself to a glass or two of port.

After a night spent in a comfortable king size bed, we awoke to breakfast at our preferred time and if the log fire wasn't enough to tempt you into the dining room, Jess's breakfasts certainly were. So much choice, beautifully prepared and presented and I am sure Jess would even pre-crack your boiled eggs if asked!!

Greg and Jess are the perfect hosts, they have found the right balance of relaxed and friendly, while maintaining a luxurious and delightful place to stay. We loved Kincaid Lodge and Kaikoura and our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. We will be back….

Room Tip: Any room is perfect but a mountain view wins my vote
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon trip.. And we couldn't agree more with all the rave reviews on this place! We were so spoilt, strawberries from the garden.. The bottomless biscuit tub and port supply.. Delicious breakfasts with the fire burning.. Very romantic! We loved it and Greg and Jess were so helpful and friendly.. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Greg and Jessica are very welcoming to their guests. Greg carried our luggage in to the lodge which is adjacent to their own home and even gave us a pager to contact them as we were their only guests on this particular day.
We had eaten before reaching the lodge which is a little way outside Kilkoura itself. The rest of the evening was spent relaxing in the comfortable resident's lounge, sipping the complementary wine and tucking in to the tasty chocolate left for us.
Our room faced the rear garden with en-suite facilities, the corner bath being so inviting we could not resist a soak before bedtime.
Next morning a delightful breakfast greeted us and all too soon, we were on our way again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This is the first time I have put a review on TripAdvisor, but this place was so fabulous, we just had to tell people about it. We stayed in Kincaid Lodge for the last 2 nights of our honeymoon on the South Island ... and talk about keeping the best till last! Originally supposed to stay only one night as we were going to stay in Christchurch on our last night but due to the earthquake, we had to amend our travel plans. We were so delighted to be able to spend a second night with Jessica and Greg at the beautiful Kincaid Lodge. They were the most accommodating, friendly hosts and it really felt like we were staying with friends. We were whisked into the living room on arrival, plonked in front of a roaring open fire and given a large glass of wine to relax with. As we were on honeymoon, we got an upgrade to the best room in the house and on returning from our fabulous dinner in town, there was a wonderful surprise treat of strawberries, chocolate and champagne. Greg booked dinner both evenings and drove us to the restaurant. Both Greg and Jessica were full of great recommendations, advice and had huge enthusiasm for the business. The setting was absolutely beautiful and the rooms were comfortable and extremely clean. We were so sad to depart and really hope to be back some day... just wish it wasn't so far away! This was simply the best accommodation we had during our trip and we will be recommending it to our friends. Thanks Jessica & Greg for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

This luxurious B&B is located only 6km north of Kaikoura, so made an ideal base for a whale watching trip. Our overnight stay was faultless. Greg and Jessica were friendly hosts and very helpful when we needed to change one of our hotel bookings for later in our trip. This region seems somewhat lacking in quality accommodation so this place really did exceed our expectations. The Lodge is in a beautiful spot, surrounded by a lovely garden. We'd love to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Beautiful and tasteful surroundings, delicious breakfasts and super helpful, friendly hosts - we didn't want to leave. Don't miss this fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kincaid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kincaid Lodge

Address: 611 Main North Road, R.D.1, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backed by snow-capped mountains, looking out to the Pacific Ocean, the historic Kincaid homestead has stood for over 100 years. Kincaid has the peace and tranquility of the country, yet is just 5 minutes drive to Kaikoura. The recently refurbished homestead provides 3 luxuriously appointed guest rooms each with their own en-suite and private verandas. Country hospitality is a big feature and the new owners (01-09-08) Jessica and Greg Frost will do their utmost to ensure that you feel right at home. Welcome to Kincaid Lodge! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kincaid Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.