We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Morph Heritage

Save Saved
You added The White Morph Heritage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Morph Heritage
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92-94 The Esplanade | post code: 7300, Kaikoura 8280, New Zealand (Formerly White Morph Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Kaikoura
California,USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

We drove into town without having booked a hotel and came accross the White Morph. The manager/owner at reception was very pleasant and helpful. Our room upstairs with a lovely view directly over the bay. The room was large and very clean. The hotel is located next door to a very good restaurant for dinner and two doors away from a nice little cafe perfect for breakfast or a light lunch. No complaints!

  • Liked — View. Room 46. Clean. Friendly.
  • Disliked — No lift.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    73
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
30
97
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights and the motel met our needs. The room was a good size, with a fair little kitchenette. Unfortunately. our patio overlooked the car park, rather than having a seaview, but the weather wasn't great anyway.

I'd happily stay here again. especially with the great restaurant next door.

  • Liked — It's right on the coastline
  • Disliked — No view of the sea from our room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

Even though we had a great stay at Anchor Inn Motel last time, we decided to try a new place this time round; it is the White Morph Motor Inn Kaikoura, situated on 92-94 Esplanade, which is quite close to town center.

Since we are only there for one night, we decided to try its Luxury Studio Apartment, the best unit in White Morph Inn. Our unit has in-room hydro-therapy spa, kitchen (very basic), very nice bath rob, air con, under floor heating in the bath room, and private balcony.

When we entered the room, I was a bit dissapointed as I can't really feel the "luxury". The furishings is about late 1990 style which isn't saying much. The room isn't big, probably around 30 square meters or less.

The kitchen is very modern, however, don't expect to cook a big meal as the dinning area is very limited and the ceramic cooktop is pretty useless when compared to a gas hub.

The in-room hydro-therapy spa can be used for 2. It takes about 20minutes to fill it up so take that into consideration when you want a spa. Also, we ran out of hot water after the spa which was quite annoying. This should not have had happened given the unit's 5-Star rating.

The view is pretty decent but there are a couple of big pine trees that are blocking the view.

From the rating organisation: A 5-Star unit is " Exceptional. Among the best available in New Zealand" - [--]
However, I do not feel the unit is among the best available in NZ, given the money that we paid. The unit is at best 4-Star.

We will probably try the Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge or the Waterfront Apartments or just go back to Anchor Inn Motel as a safe bet.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights in a "luxury" apartment over looking the water. Nice view, fantastic spa bath, but we had a few problems. The washing machine didn't work until it was pulled out of the cupboard blocking our path to the bathroom, and when we cancelled our thrid night due to bad weather for whale watching we got an extremely rude response from the owner. Overall the service was pretty bad. We checked out half an hour late due to problems with the washing machine and waiting for it to finish it's cycle and they tried to charge us extra.
Not happy. Wouldn't stay there again. They made us feel awful when we were trying to enjoy a hardearned holiday.

  • Liked — Spa bath
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

Disappointed - nothing like the website! Shabby, run-down. Very dated & basic. Restaurant next door of the same name is super though!

  • Liked — Restaurant next door
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2007

We stayed at the White Morph Inn for just 1 night. Check in was good and the staff were really helpful. Upon arrival, we thought that the place looked just ok from the outside and we could see through to some of the more basic rooms and they didnt look that great, so we were worried about the standard. However we had actually booked into the Superior/luxury rooms and were not disappointed. The rooms were spacious, clean; they had a little kitchen area and a great bathroom with a huge bath Jacuzzi bath tab!!! The views from the room were great and we looked right out to the ocean and also had a balcony! We would definitely recommend going for the superior/luxury rooms if your budget will allow it really was worth it.

The location was pretty good and the centre of Kaikoura is about a 20 minute walk from the accommodation.

A delicious breakfast was served 2 doors down at a local café.

We really enjoyed our nights stay here and would definitely recommend the superior/luxury rooms.

  • Liked — The superior rooms and the bath tubs
  • Disliked — Room standard varied dramatically between basic and superior
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside,UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

Only stayed one night but wish it could have been more. Going by previous reviews we must have been in the new part because it was pristine and very well appointed. Jacuzzi bath, neat litle kitchenette and a washer dryer. Overlooked the sea(over a road) but we were not bothered by noise. Restuarant next door was excellent. Manager/owner? was helpful and extremely pleasant. Can only speak as I found!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The White Morph Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Morph Heritage

Address: 92-94 The Esplanade | post code: 7300, Kaikoura 8280, New Zealand (Formerly White Morph Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Morph Heritage 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Morph Heritage, is on the waterfront in Kaikoura NZ, All the Premium Spa rooms face the ocean with full views and adjacent to the Dolphin Encounter and Cafe and Cinema. Very close proximity to the shops 15min, walk or 2 mins in your car. Our Garden studios are facing the garden, sunny and only 30 mtrs from the shore. The White Morph Heritage has a range of accommodation to suite different travellers with differing needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The White Morph Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Morph Motor Hotel Kaikoura
White Morph Hotel
White Morph Kaikoura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Morph Heritage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.