We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Walkway

Peninsula Walkway
End of Fyffe Quay, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Peninsula Walkway like an insider
Top Rated
$243*
and up
Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Kaikoura
Attraction details
Cleveland, OH
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We drove to the parking area at the end of Fyffe Quay to start our walk. Before we started we watched several seals around the car park and in the nearby tidal pools. You don't want to get to close because they will growl. The walk starts uphill so that you are walking along a ridge overlooking the ocean. The trail is marked by vertical post so it easy to follow. There are several places to stop and sit with placards giving useful information. One place you you can look down on the seal colony on the beach. The trail takes you along the ridge, through gates, over fences, through a pasture, a small town, a pine tree forest and back into Kaikoura. In all we walked for over three hours. There were some gentle climbs and descents and a couple muddy spots. We are a couple in our sixties and did not have a problem.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    75
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Walkway and tidal pools”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The tidal pools and seal colony at the start of the walkway, and particularly the pair of black-backed gulls who pick up clams, then fly to a height of 20 feet or so and drop them, are interesting and amusing in their efforts to gain a seafood snack... It's a lovely setting for a walk beside the sea.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

you can get up nice and close to seals while out here. I drove but a few took the option to walk out to the peninsula. they just laze around everywhere, not fazed by humans at all. something you don't get to see everyday. you may even spot the odd one on the side of the road sunning themselves

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Make sure that you are able to do uphill inclines and wear decent shoes - it's not mountain climbing but there are a few trails that require a decent amount of stamina.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Spectacular views from the top of this walk. Meet some seals when you arrive and keep an eye out for the seal pups playing in the water catchments on your way in.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Walkway also viewed

 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Peninsula Walkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Walkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.