We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Passione Italian Restaurant

Passione Italian Restaurant
40 West End, Kaikoura, New Zealand
03-319 6999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 39 restaurants in Kaikoura
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Had a good meal here one evening in November 2013. I had the fish of the day which was monkfish with asparagus risotto and my husband had an Hawaiian pizza. The food was lovely and the service was great. Would recommend.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    49
    21
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great pizza, service, wine, atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Such a contrast to the previous day in a different restaurant - excellent traditional style Italian pizza - tasty and cooked to perfection. Good service, tasty wine.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Good food, excellent service, interesting modern decor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I've been there twice, and both times everyone at our table has enjoyed their food. The people working there are very helpful and really went out of their way, (I thought), to let my friend try different wines even though she was just ordering a glass. Very flavorful food. Not inexpensive, but won't break the bank either. The decor is bright, airy, modern, (not cozy), with interesting artwork on the walls.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best pizza in New Zealand so far...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

A very clean and stylish restaurant. Superb thin based pizza with just the right amount of topping. Pasta carbonara was also delicious. Excellent service from friendly staff.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food and large portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stumbled upon this place while walking in Kaikoura and enjoyed the food very much. We ordered the sample platter as a starter with cold cuts, cheese, olives, tapenade, etc. obviously accompanied with a nice wine. It was great.

As a main we decided to have the risotto and a pizza. If we'd known that the portions would be so large we would have ordered one main instead of two. The flavours were good and we enjoyed our dinner very much, but it was way to much.

I was a bit surprised at the end of our dinner when I ordered a Limoncello and the waitress did not know what it was. Luckily they had it, so my Italian dinner was complete!

Nice place, but the chairs are not made to sit comfy for an evening ;-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passione Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Passione Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passione Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.