We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ohau Waterfall Walk and Seal Pups

Ohau Waterfall Walk and Seal Pups
Route 1, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Kaikoura
Type: Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous to watch the seal ops playing in the pool at the base of the waterfall. Possibly only see seal pups in winter. Surprising that they can make the long trek up to the pool of water.
Many thanks to NZ Frenzy as we would not have found this with only the well known guide books.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    75
    26
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun seal pups frolicing in the waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Magical - seal pups playing in the waterfall. What more could you want?
The walk through native bush is itself good, but you won't believe pups make it all the way to the waterfall until you see it for yourself. Well worth a stop on the journey along the coastal highway.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Oh. My. God.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The cuteness was overwhelming and this was considered a peak life experience for some of the members of our party. Just great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rare glimpse of awesomeness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Wow, we had a great time visiting the seal pups. We did a day trip from Christchurch (2.5 hour drive) with the primary goal of seeing this waterfall. We were not disappointed! The waterfall alone is beautiful, but seeing over 50 seals swim and play right in front of you was a very unique and rare experience.

This is definitely worth the stop, and the walk is less than 10 minutes and manageable for just about anyone. Make sure you have enough time to really enjoy the waterfall!

We made a short highlight video if you want to get a real taste of the experience: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=50EuGGqxXXw

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfall with seal pups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

A lovely 5 minute walk through the woods following the stream up to a waterfall. There you can see lots of baby seals playing in the pool.
All for free!
We went in August which I believe is around breeding time so saw dozens. All very cute and playful up close.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohau Waterfall Walk and Seal Pups also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Ohau Waterfall Walk and Seal Pups? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohau Waterfall Walk and Seal Pups, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.