We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikene Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waikene Lodge
Save
You added Waikene Lodge to your Saves list
243 Scotts Road | RD3, Kaikoura 7373, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
kaiapoi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Second time round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

They say the second time is never as good as the first.How wrong!.This time we had the pleasure of staying two nights and that still wasnt long enough.We recently stayed at Braemer Lodge and quite frankly this place is streets ahead.Joy makes the place ten times more inviting.The views are far greater,and the over all experience is simply far and above Braemer.We are now planning trip number three.Cant wait to stay longer.Big thumbs up to Joy,Ross and Nelson and furry friends.

Room Tip: We preferred rooms 1 and 2 for slightly more privacy,but they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Visiting Waikene lodge to seek a relaxing space to recharge myself.
The view is brilliant.
Great accessibility make it easier for us.
There are lots to explore in the working farm itself.
It's great hide-away from rat race.

Please come and see Joy.

:)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great camping place, fully equiped, welcoming, soo quiet and peacefull! The Kaikouri camping sites near the sea were much too close to the road, too noisy. We were so happy we took the 20 km road and found this place where the sunset set the mountains on fire...

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

An anniversary treat. Beautiful accomodation in tranquil location. Very clean, comfortable room with tea and coffee making facility, sky TV and spa bath. Lovely view across pristine lawn to farmland and snow-capped mountains. Luxurious lounge with huge open fire, music system and well equipped kitchen. Good breakfast provided with full selection of teas and coffee. There are good, mapped walks around the property (5,500 acres). We walked for 5 hours across farmland up to a self-contained hut where we had a hot brew and back through forest and multiple stream crossings (good boots advised). It was great!!! The hosts, Joy and Ross are lovely and will help with anything. Waikene is about 20 mins from Kaikoura so better to plan to be self-catering. We will be back! Gill & Steve, Christchurch

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We arrived after dark and found Waikene Lodge at the end of Scotts Road. We were met by Ross and Joy and were shown the lodges’ facilities by Joy and then left to relax for the evening. When we woke in the morning we were treated to a spectacular sunrise and view of the snow-capped mountains, with native birdsong as a morning chorus. Waikene Lodge is a great place to relax and re-charge your batteries. We spent 2 nights here and could have spent much longer. The rooms are spacious and spotless with Sky TV if you want it. The communal lounge with its large log fire is perfect to relax in to enjoy a glass of wine and a good book. Evening meals are no longer an option but you have the use of a fully equipped kitchen. The continental breakfast and percolated coffee was wonderful. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Beautiful picturesque surroundings, fantastic host, amazing rooms with spectacular views, peace quiet and tranquility....a fantastic stay, if we had know it was going to be this good we would have booked for longer! Ive stayed in many hotels and lodges around NZ and this is by far one of the best, not to be missed :) Dan and Aimee (Manchester UK).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here to break up our journey travelling south. Unfortunately we hadn't realised it was as far out of Kaikoura as it was. (about 20km - our fault for not double checking) However, this place is gorgeous. The fittings, the ambiance and the location are just fabulous. The view from the rooms is beautiful. If we'd realised where it was before we arrived we would have filled up with petrol in Kaikoura before we progressed there as we then had to travel back to Kaikoura to fill up before proceeding south. (We ended up almost passing the lodge on our way as we were advised to take the Inland Kaikoura Road rather than the coast as it was much more scenic). If the weather is good this is a wonderful drive through the mountains.
We had an excellent nights sleep and a very filling continental breakfast. Our hosts were lovely and I got to see the calves being fed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikene Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikene Lodge

Address: 243 Scotts Road | RD3, Kaikoura 7373, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waikene Lodge is a rural retreat on 2200ha of rugged farm land, nestled between the Inland and Seaward Kaikoura Ranges. Alpine Pacific Triangle. Extensive tracks suitable for tramping and mountain biking. All rooms are spacious with en-suite bathrooms (3 with spa bath). Unsurpassed views of snow-capped mountains. Camping facilities also available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikene Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.