We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kaikoura's best kept secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaikoura Firstlight Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kaikoura Firstlight Accommodation to your Saves list
Kaikoura Firstlight Accommodation
36 Ward Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, null, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kaikoura's best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We would recommend Firstlight to anyone wanting to spend time in Kaikoura. The room we stayed in was beautifully arranged with everything you would find in a 5 star hotel. The room was warm (our stay was in July in cold weather) and the atmosphere very relaxing; Murray and Tracey are fantastic hosts, and they recommended a great place for dinner! Can't wait to return and take a fishing trip with Murray soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I found his place online and I think I have found the best kept secret in Kaikoura. The room is amazing, beautiful views and facilities and the owners' level of customer service would put the Ritz In Paris to Shame. I really cannot fault this place or it's owners. Will always stay here when in Kaikoura

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

If you want to stay in lovely Kaikoura for a night or two this is the place to stay

Lovely Converted self contained units with spectacular mountainous views to wake up to.

Fully recommend this accommodation to anyone wanting to stay in Kaikoura

Fantastic Place great lovely owners and rooms tastefully decorated and fitted out.

No Complaints at all

Room Tip: Just stay here if going to Kaikoura
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

In addition to being comfortable immaculate and well-located on the peninsula just outside Kaikoura, the hosts are relaxed and friendly. We booked the smaller unit: it had a double bed with seating and TV, and fridge/kettle etc with a beautifully done shower room. It also had a private deck seating area, as did the other unit. There was a washing machine and washing line for guest use. I also enjoyed fresh crayfish as a treat. Stay here! Value wise this was our best value accommodation in a month touring New Zealand. You really can't go wrong!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We recently stayed at Firstlight in Kaikoura. One rule of travel in New Zealand was to get to our hotel by dark. In this case, we arrived later than anticipated, called Firstlight and Murray, the owner, drove to town so we could follow him back to the room. Great customer service! Only wish we had more time in Kaikoura. Great view of the water and mountains from our room.

Murray and his wife were very helpful in providing a phone for our last minute airline reservations and the room was very nice. Next time we will stay longer and go on a whale watching, dolphin trip with Murray's company.

Highly recommend Kaikoura Firstlight Accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Spectacular views front and rear complemented by extremely friendly hosts, Murray and Tracey. Downstairs unit had all new amenities with an outside area overlooking the mountains where you could enjoy a drink after a long day. Would highly recommend. Murray also offered chartered fishing and whale watching flights.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for four nights in an immaculate ground floor unit. Very comfortable bed, a BBQ available to use on the deck, excellent bathroom facilities, and a brilliant view to the mountains. The view from the front of the units was out to sea. Plenty of walks, close to town, very peaceful, hosts very friendly and helpful. We especially appreciated the coffee not being in small sachets, and the some locally produced toiletries, rather than the usual small bars of soap. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaikoura Firstlight Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Firstlight Accommodation

Address: 36 Ward Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kaikoura Firstlight Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaikoura Firstlight Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.