We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You just have to...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nin's Bin

Nin's Bin
Sate Highway 1 | Rakautara, Kaikoura, New Zealand
03 319 6454
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 48 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Price range: $29 - $151
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Nins Bin was first estabilished in November 1977 as a roadside caravan selling fresh local crayfish. Still to this day it offers just that, right next to the beach for an ulitmate New Zealand experience.Only a 20minute drive north of the Kaikoura Township, it is a perfect stop off point to either dine in or take a crayfish away for your enjoyment later on!
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“You just have to...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

....try it. It was our fist time having Crayfish and based on the cost of it, we wont be eating it often but when in Kaikoura, eat crayfish. Unfortunately we got there when it was pretty cold and wet but we were determined to try it all the same. The views are still fantastic.

The food is delicious, just not enough for the price you pay.

The restaurant is quite funky too. Definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    36
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“The price was a bit high but the food is fresh and the view is lovely”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

It's a tourist stop for sure, so the prices will reflect that. Having said that, the crayfish and mussels we had were fresh and well-prepared.

There is no restroom that I could see easily, but I didn't ask either. Behind the van is a fresh water faucet to rinse your hands.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinsBin, media manager at Nin's Bin, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
thank you for your feedback, we aim to only present and serve the freshest seafood we have to offer.
we do not up our prices beacuase we are a 'tourist stop', we get alot of locals and visitors from all around new zealand. we price our crayfish accordingly to the market price which can range from $90-$115NZD per kilogram, depending on the day.

we appreciate the feedback, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Ambience for Crayfish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We ordered 2 crayfish and they were so fresh and tasty. We had a nice spot overlooking the gorgeous blue Tasman sea . You will love the look of the van. Must try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great spot great location great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Set in a picturesque location by the water with wild seals on the rocks this is a must do if you are in the area. Lobsters are caught daily cooked in the morning and you pay by the size $45NZD will get you a good sized cray. Friendly staff will advise on what to do if you want to take one away with you or prep one there for you to eat. Enough to say the locals were coming in to buy their fresh ones from them.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“excellent lunch on a sunny day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

fresh crayfish served cold or hot. green mussel and a few other things like white baits. not many option of food available but a perfect weather with a good view of the beach, it is a wonderful lunch still.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nin's Bin also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Nin's Bin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nin's Bin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.