We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere in a great hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Tank Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fish Tank Lodge to your Saves list
Fish Tank Lodge
86 West End, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Voecklabruck, Austria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere in a great hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is located just next to the bus stop of Intercity/Naked Bus and to the i-Site. The owners and the staff in general are very nice and helpful. The vibe and atmosphere is very good and especially the lounge is soooo nice with an amazing view!! The beds are very comfy and all facilities are kept very clean as well. Definitely a place to go to enjoy lovely Kaikoura!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    30
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
24
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hostel is great with really helpful, friendly staff!
Fantastic location right in the centre of town with amazing views over the sea. The hostel has a big, well equipped kitchen; comfy living area & outside deck with BBQ.
Rooms are nice, clean and modern.
The best thing about this hostel though was the WiFi. It's the only place I've been in NZ where it was free, unlimited and fast! It was even fast enough to stream programmes!
It would've got 5 stars except for them hoovering at 9am and the kitchen closing at 10.30pm. But these are only minor things in the great scheme.
Stay here, you'll love it!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here as a family for a night over the christmas period. The hostel is great and has everything you could want we had sole occupancy of a four bunk room. It was very clean and the owners were very very helpful. The kitchen was well equipped and there was free tea and coffee available. On our check out day the owners offered that we could stay on and watch TV, shower, have cups of tea etc beyond the check out time, which although was not needed was very helpful. Would definitly stay there again. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hostel does it all really good: great and friendly staff, very nice communal areas, large and clean kitchen, comfy beds, several bathrooms, excellent central location, and all this for a great price! In addition, there are very good house rules which include no alcohol on the premises after 22h00 (or maybe 22h30 I cannot remember the exact time) and no noise after this time either. This is amazing since it guarantees a great night of sleep! I had a bed in a 4-bed female dorm and was lucky enough to have 3 great roomies (all lovely). Craig, the manager I believe, does a great job in managing this place and gives tons of help on what to do in Kaikoura and how to get to certain places. The communal living room is spacious and a great spot for meeting new people. There is a tv with dvd player as well. The kitchen is big with several large fridges and has everything you need. All in all, this was a great place to stay and the fish tank lodge has everything right. Great hostel to stay, and right across the street from the bus stops (where inter city buses stop), and 5 mins walk from train station and whale watching booking centre. A winner!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

This was one of those places where you arrive and just like it right away. The staff is cleaning all the time so it's superclean, nice and simple dorms and a kitchen in the right size for the hostel. The best part was the lounge with many sofas, a table for dinner, lots of dvds and some games. Spent much time in there. When the weather was nice the balcony provided both sea view, lots of chairs for out door dinners and a bbq! The location is great, right by all the cute stores, right by the long way bus stop, right by the sea and walking distance to whale watch and other activities. The staff is also great! So helpful and nice. One day they took me with their car to the supermarket so i wouldn't get soaked by the rain :) i even extended my time in kaikoura and this hostel made my 6 days easy to love! PS Im a solo traveller on 19 years old and met lots of nice people.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

First choice if you are taking an intercity bus to Kaikoura. The bus stops just at the doorstep. Good location in the main street of Kaikoura. The owner and the staff there are all helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Take the first floor dorm facing the sea if you like to sleep with the soft sound of the sea, and oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at The Fish Tank Lodge. The Manager was so nice and accommodating. My friend and I had originally booked in at The Adelphi and upon arrival found it to be filthy, old/cold and not value for money. We walked passed The Fish Tank lodge and decided to see if they had spare rooms. It turned out they did, so we switched hostels, best idea EVER! Thanks again for your awesome service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fish Tank Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Tank Lodge

Address: 86 West End, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kaikoura with uninterrupted views of the ocean and mountains is the cosy Fish Tank Lodge. Beds are seriously comfortable with crisp clean linen already made up for you and the national buses stop right outside the front door. The kitchen is fully equipped and the lounge warm and cosy with some awesome artwork which is a must see! Feel right at home here with free tea and coffee and a warm kiwi welcome to Kaikoura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Fish Tank Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Tank Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.