We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Encounter

Cafe Encounter
96 The Esplanade, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 48 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Cafe open 0700 to 1700 does breakfasts, lunches afternoon teas. Phone 033196777
Taupo
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Magnificent location opposite the sea front, open air seating if you desire, really good service. What really caps this place off though is the selection and quality of food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review. We are spoilt here in this wonderful location aren't we! We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and do hope we can welcome you back someday! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    54
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Qld
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had breakfast here and sat outside in the sun and had the added bonus of a dolphin show as they were leaping from the water straight across the road. The service was good and there was wi-fi supplied to a certain value with our meals.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review we appreciate it and what a treat to see dolphins whilst you dined! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fabulous place - best coffee in Sth Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

wow this place is amazing! The views to the beach were fab. the views to the mountains were amazing and the coffee here unmatchable in the sth island and definately in kaikoura!!! they come with little heart chocolates which is lovely and the fluffies are brilliant with a chocolate covered spoon. got a kids area outside and inside a box of kids toys....a busy hub of activity. the counter food was lovely too and a great price. WOW just go!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your review you have totally made our day! Big smiles all round here! :-)
We work really hard to ensure we deliver good coffee and we're thrilled you appreciated yours. We love welcoming families, visitors, and locals and thrive on having a buzz about the place! We would love to welcome you back next time you head South! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Yummy coffee & great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Like most places in NZ, Encounter does great coffees and tasty food. You can sit outside in the sunshine and watch the waves crashing ashore

They also have a stuffed Albatross inside which, unfortunately, is the only one I saw whilst in Kaikoura!!

Perfect for a coffee/ casual lunch...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi there and thanks for your review.
We are so spolit here with our lovely view - we are so glad you appreciated it whilst you were here and enjoyed your visit! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Waffles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a variety of things to choose from but the waffles were to die for!! The staff were helpful and very pleasant.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi & thanks so much for your review! We really appreciate it!
Now where was I......mmmmm waffles!!!! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Encounter also viewed

 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Cafe Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Encounter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.