We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to do here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ohau Point Seal Colony

Ohau Point Seal Colony
State Highway 1, Ohau Point, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 33 things to do in Kaikoura
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lots to do here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Lovely place to walk with great pathing to walk through the natural landscape amongst wildlife........today May 2014 there were baby seals slashing and playing around in a pond where the ducks were...the sea to venture out over the rocks or the big hill climbs for the great views

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    126
    23
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Redding, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

If you want to get up close to nature, definitely stop by the seal colony! I walked there from town and it took maybe an hour (but I was stopping to take photos along the way). There were at least 10 fur seals just lying by the water, perfectly poised for pictures. I wasn't looking where I was going and nearly stepped on one seal on the boardwalk! They sit quite close to where people walk, which was really neat. Don't forget to check the water while you're there, because many people missed the seals swimming because they were so focused on the seals lying 2 meters in front of them!

Free, easy to get to, and I got some wonderful pictures from the experience! If you're feeling up to it, you can continue on the Peninsula Walk (about a four hour walk starting and ending in town), and there are more seals along the way!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Seally good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We heard there was a seal colony but didn't expect to be able to get to within a few metres of a number of New Zealand Fir Seals, including their babies. A great photo opportunity for wildlife lovers. We saw about a dozen animals, including two asleep on the road and several babies frolicking in a roadside lagoon. Magic.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Glad we spotted the sign”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Nearly missed this on the drive back to Picton as did not realise it was seal colony so look out for Ohau Point road sign. Lots of seals to see ( On May 1) and well worth the stop.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Lots of Seals - Great to See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I do feel sorry for people who leave negative comments because they visit at the wrong time of year? Use any search engine to check for best times. If it is not the best time then don't leave a rating at all! Numpties! There were plenty of seals 2 weeks ago (mid April) and I have a few very nice videos of them. There is also the Waterfall Walk where the pups go up stream and play in the pools. (Left side of the road at Ohau Point going in the direction of Blenheim, where cars and vans will be parked which may obscure the signs.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohau Point Seal Colony also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Ohau Point Seal Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohau Point Seal Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.