We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to view seals up close - Kaikoura Peninsula Seal Colony” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seal Colony

Seal Colony
State Highway 1, Ohau Point, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 Attractions in Kaikoura
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Wigan
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great place to view seals up close - Kaikoura Peninsula Seal Colony”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The colony is a 50 minute walk along the shore onto Kaikoura peninsula. We realised we had arrived at the colony when we found a large adult seal lay in the middle of our path! To view the animals up close in their natural habitat was just wonderful. Note however these seals were not very active and we saw only one swimming in the water.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    106
    19
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Saw fur seals on Kaikoura Penninsula. There were heaps of seals up on the beach and lots of other photographers there. It was close to get to - we had about an hour until our whale watching trip started and made it in time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Makes Kaikoura unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The colony at The Spit is mainly older seals who are sunbathing/dozing but they provide a chance to get up close (but not too close) to likeable critters. You'll smell them! You'll see more pups at Ohau and beyond, but the Spit is a surefire winner any way. There's a creek on the town side where younger one's play and show off, worth a walk back 200m from the car park if you can.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“100s of seals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

There were literally 100s of seals just off the coast on the rocks and on the beach. Could have touched some of the pups they were that close!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Saw So Many Seals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is amazing experience, there were so many seals around even though the weather was not the best, but it was definitely worth braving the cold. Dont miss this

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seal Colony also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Seal Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seal Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.