We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and original” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Rabbit Pizza Co

The Black Rabbit Pizza Co
17 Beach Road | beside Corianders, Kaikoura 7340, New Zealand
+64 3-319 6360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Pizza, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout, Delivery
Description: The Black Rabbit Pizza Co is a small artisan takeaway pizza shop located in Kaikoura, NZ. We also offer pasta and Kaikoura's own locally roasted Star Roast Coffee. We have the only delivery service in Kaikoura. Free WiFi is available also.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delicious and original”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great pizza if you like something beyond the usual. Wild Hare is among the ingredients available. The pumpkin pizza is delicious. They will customize a pizza for you if you ask and will deliver too. The new management is eager to please and offers pasta as well. A must stop on the main road in Kaikoura.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfolk, Owner at The Black Rabbit Pizza Co, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed our unique pizzas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

It took 45 minutes to get four pizzas and we could not tell which pizza was which when we did get them. It is under new management and does not offer some pizzas which were advertised on the menu. It is highly rated in Lonely Planet but that is probably under the previous owners. Go there before you get hungry.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfolk, Owner at The Black Rabbit Pizza Co, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for your review. We do apologise that you had to wait 45 minutes but we were very busy as it was the weekend and did advise you it would be over a half an hour wait.
When you phoned to place your order we informed you at the time that the menu you had was about 7 years old and had slightly changed. It was our mistake for not writing the names of the pizzas on the boxes. We do hope you enjoyed them anyhow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Go for the pasta”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Okay, so I'm a pizza snob, this is a known fact, and my brother didn't want to go here if I complained about the pizza. I decided to have the spagetti with mince venison, it was pretty tasty at a reasonable price. A bit odd, sweet but also spicy (hot) and I'm not sure what the spicy came from since there was nothing on the menu to say spicy. Their parm appears to be pre shredded, which is a bit of a downer, but otherwise the pasta was good. I tried bro's pizza just to see... the crust is thin, no bubbling of the dough around the edges or in the middle (like a good pizza should have) in fact, it didn't seem better than a frozen crust to me, not a lot of consistency to it. Toppings were okay but too many of them, they weigh down the crust. Maybe I should leave my pizza experiences for when I'm in Rome...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfolk, Owner at The Black Rabbit Pizza Co, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We're very glad you enjoyed the pasta but we find it a little strange that you have left a negative review about our pizza, which you didn't order.
We are a gourmet pizza shop in NZ and though we do have some traditional pizzas on our menu, we're not trying to make Italian style pizzas.
All of our products, including the dough are made fresh, on site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unique in Kaikoura”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Huge menu of really unusual and delicious sounding pizzas. They have starters too, and the service and location is excellent. Quite pricey but the food is so rich that one pizza really could do 4 people I reckon especially if you choose an entree. I have eaten here twice and look forward to eating here again. Oh and the restaurant area is really nice too, very informal but they have games of naughts and crosses that you can play while you wait. Cool!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Rabbit Pizza Co also viewed

 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Black Rabbit Pizza Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Rabbit Pizza Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.