We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuti's Restaurant and Bar

Tuti's Restaurant and Bar
35 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
+64 3-319 3370
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Price range: $14 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Family owned and operated new build restaurant with a comfortable and attractive interior. One of provincial New Zealand's best equipped and hygienic kitchens serving the freshest of local seafood's and local farm produce to a consistently high standard. All fish served in this restaurant is purchased direct from the fishermen and filleted in house, with preference given to line caught fish.
NewZealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We visited Tutis on Easter Saturday night .We both had the flounder ,something we would not normally have and it was superb. The staff at Tutis are amongst the best we have ever encountered anywhere in the world .
We were really impressed with the way staff keep an eye on all the tables ,seamlessly covering for each other eliminating those "awkward moments"
We strongly recommend Tutis for ,great food and a really enjoyable night out, its certainly become our favourite in Kaikoura.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    69
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Restaurant in Kaikoura”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We pop up to Kaikoura fairly often from Christchurch. Sometimes for a family get-away weekend and sometimes with overseas guests. I reckon we've eaten at all of the significant restaurants in Kaikoura and Tuti's is easily our favourite.

Our most recent meal there was earlier this week and it was excellent. As always, the service was perfect and the atmosphere comfortable (a nice balance between casual and not-too-casual). Our party was an extended family ranging from age 9 to age 71 and everyone judged the food top-notch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Island, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average, not top ranking...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Visited this due to its top ranking as many others. However it turned out to be just an average restaurant's food you can get in most places. Will try other place next time for this price tag...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Indonesian Fayre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Had a very enjoyable meal here. Tasty food, Indonesian Seafood Curry and Chicken Satay. Good Service.

Would recommend.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Well-oiled machine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Everything about Tuti's is nothing short of fantastic. The warm welcome, atmosphere, easy to follow menus and great staff. The meals are of a very high quality and great portion sizes. No matter how full I am I desperately try and fit in dessert or a hot chocolate - anything to keep the delicious evening going! Friendly and satisfying; a must-have if you're traveling through Kaikoura. :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuti's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Tuti's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuti's Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.