We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food at Tutis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuti's Restaurant and Bar

Tuti's Restaurant and Bar
35 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
+64 3-319 3370
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $49
Cuisines: Seafood, Fusion, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Family owned and operated new build restaurant with a comfortable and attractive interior. One of provincial New Zealand's best equipped and hygienic kitchens serving the freshest of local seafood's and local farm produce to a consistently high standard. All fish served in this restaurant is purchased direct from the fishermen and filleted in house, with preference given to line caught fish.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food at Tutis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

It doesn't look like much but the food and service is absolutely great. Last night we had the best meal so far in NZ...and we have had some excellent food. The fish was so good, fresh and well cooked. We had calamari and then Indonesian prawn curry and the most delicious mango cheesecake. Lovely family owned and run place. Don't miss it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    86
    16
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great home cooked dishes, fine local ingrediants and happy smiling staff. Would highly recommend. Liked all of the above

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Just had a starter and main course at Tuti's and I am very happy with the evening.

An entree, a main course and a soft drink all came to 49 NZD. I was served by a very friendly and humble waiter who checked up on me a couple of times to make sure I had everything I needed, (but not so that I felt bothered).

The place is situated about 5 min walk away from the town centre, but right next to my hostel (and many other motels and hostels in Kaikoura), so it's great for visitors.

The food was excellent, fish of the day superb.

NEGATIVE: Would be just nitpicking to put something here... Not too cheap, but that's about it.
POSITIVE: Location, Staff, Food

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, NZ
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice food, friendly service. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We dined the first night on our trip away - there was no problem with a last minute table, which appeared unusual for the high season - so something to take into consideration when heading to Kaikoura.

We were somewhat confused with what type of restaurant this was, there was primarily seafood options, but also a number of curries. This didn't deter from the restaurant itself, we just felt like it was missing a true identity.

Our dinner was really nice. Salt & pepper squid entree was delightful, the chilli mussels were also but just on the extreme of heat/spice for my liking. The serving size was very generous, so 2 entree portions was very sufficient. The chicken satay was very tasty, a great satay sauce - & great the next day as we took a doggie bag home since we were so full!

The staff were friendly & courteous & knowledgeable about the food options (the only steak option was slow-cooked when we questioned - would have been interested to try it, but a bit unsure about spending $ on it as we're used to good quality rare beef).

Overall good value for the size & quality of food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Deserves its high ranking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The prawn satay starter was very good -- not too sweet. The prawn curry main course was about the best curry I have ever had in my life. My husband had the special seafood gumbo (can't remember exactly what it was called). It was OK, but not as good as the rest. Attentive wait staff with new water bottles brought when needed. Nice decor and ambience in the restaurant. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuti's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Tuti's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuti's Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.