We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaikoura Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kaikoura Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Maxtons On The Shore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Kaikoura
Philadelphia
2 reviews
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I booked a one night stay at the Kaikoura Boutique Hotel which was included through the KiwiRail web site as part of a trip from Christchurch to Wellington via the Coastal Pacific train/Interislander ferry. The entire experience was absolutely breathtaking and our stay in Kaikoura couldn't have been more relaxing.

Robin and her husband were a pleasure to talk with and were extremely personable. Staying here, you feel like you're afforded the interaction and personal service of a B&B, but with all the luxury and privacy of a five star hotel.

Our room was upstairs in the main building and was situated so the view out of the front windows was beachfront and the side view out the French doors to the balcony was of downtown Kaikoura and the surrounding country side (all framed by snow-capped peaks--incredible!!). Binoculars were provided in the room if you're feeling lucky enough to try and spot some local wildlife.

The spacious room was tastefully decorated in a modern style with a luxe fit and finish; local artwork and photos adorned the walls. The bathroom had all the amenities one would expect from a high-end western hotel. In fact, everything down to the fixtures was brand new. We were told we were only the third guests in the room following the reno. Mini-bar with complimentary fruit and cookies is included. TV is the usual basic cable one tends to find in NZ hotels (don't expect 50+ channels as in the US). Absolutely no complaints about the room/bed/etc. Even if I did have a complaint, the view would have more than made up for it...and then some.

There is a fine dining restaurant downstairs off the lobby called Maxtons that was recommended by several in town. We did not have the pleasure of dining there, but the venue was used by the hotel to serve a complimentary light breakfast in the morning--which was delicious.

The location of the hotel is about a 15 min walk to the "downtown" area of Kaikoura. The scenery is so amazing that the 15 mins will fly by. A slightly longer walk in the opposite direction will get you to the peninsula for seal/bird watching.

All in, this was truly a top-notch hotel. Couldn't ask for anything more.

Room Tip: Top floor, ocean view is well worth the extra money. If you're lucky enough to get a balcony roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    40
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
91
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I was here with my girlfriend two weeks ago and was really impressed with the whole experience. We stayed in the chalets out the back but found theese more than adequate. We had everything we wanted including a very well stocked mini bar. We did inspect the rooms in the main house and theese were spectacular. I never sunk in to carpet like what was on the ground here. Total luxury with amazing sea and mountain views.theese rooms are a lot more expensive and we probably would have upgraded to this only for the fact that the chalets were so comfortable.we dined in the hotel restaurant one evening and again this was a very positive experience with an exceptional waitress attending to us. I can't wait to go back and relax here for a while. Wonderful hosts also. Thanks guys

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This place exceeded our high expectations. We had a waterfront room which was superbly appointed and beautifully decorated with a spectacular view of the sea. The staff were all extremely friendly and the owners personable and welcoming which made the whole trip an absolute pleasure. Sometimes you go to a hotel and they get it right. This is that hotel. The only issue is the price. It's rather expensive, at over 300 dollars a night. However, if you are looking for a good way to spend money and live in a lap of luxury, this is your place.

Room Tip: Choose a waterfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent one night in this lovely heritage hotel, newly renovated. In fact, we were the first people to occupy our lovely room and enjoyed a special bottle of sparkling wine to enjoy.
The room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The decor was very tasteful.

Robin went over and above our expectations. When we forgot a small pillow in the room, which we had brought with us, she emailed us to let us know and then happily forwarded to us at a B&B in Queenstown. Thank you so much Robin. We loved your hotel. Will recommend it to friends!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was the first place we stayed in New Zealand. We were greeted warmly and by name on arrival and shown to our room. It was across the courtyard at the back of the hotel. The room was decorated well and showed a certain style. The whole place is trying - and succeeding - to put itself above the "pack" and be a little stylish.

Car parking was convenient and plentiful.

The restaurant is run separately to the hotel, and doesn't do breakfast out of season - but we were given a great breakfast recommendation at the Encounter Cafe.

A brilliant welcome to New Zealand and some great tips given for other things to visit in the area.

If I had to pick one minor niggle, it would be that WiFi wasn't completely reliable throughout our room. It definitely didn't detract from our stay, though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Kaikoura Boutique Hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the town centre, right on the waterfront. The old colonial building is beautiful and has a restaurant attached, which we only used for breakfast.
We stayed in one of the courtyard rooms, which was clean and nicely decorated, but very small. If we had stayed for more than a few days I think the room would have been too small, as there was not enough space to unpack any clothes and hang them up or put them away, but for our two nights it was fine. The rooms in the main building were being refurbished during our stay.
The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, and recommended the peninsular walk, which was a great way to see some beautiful scenery and the local seal colonies.
The breakfast was delicious and plentiful.
We would definitely stay in the Kaikoura Boutique Hotel again, but would choose to stay in one of the larger rooms in the main building next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This sweet little hotel was an ideal location for my visit to Kaikoura and its resident whales, dolphins and seals. Simple & stylish decor, warm welcome, friendly hostess (Robyn), and a fantastic restaurant. The hotel is just across from the water so there are lovely views from the lobby and restaurant -- and soon the new rooms upstairs in the main building. It's also quite literally just a 2 minute walk to whale watching and dolphin swim boats. The wi-fi wasn't working in the guest room during my brief stay but it was available in the lobby, which is just steps away and quite comfortable. Apart from the thin walls that I experienced and others have mentioned, I had a really lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kaikoura Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Boutique Hotel

Address: 146 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Maxtons On The Shore)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kaikoura Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel is an historic hotel right on the waterfront on Kaikoura's majestic Esplanade. The rooms have recently been upgraded to an extremely high standard, with stunning contemporary interior design, brand new furniture and flat screen TVs. The guest lounge has spectacular views over the ocean.. The rate includes free parking and free Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kaikoura Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaikoura Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.