We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well-located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaikoura Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kaikoura Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Maxtons On The Shore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well-located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Tiny rooms behind the main hotel which is being restored are comfortably furnished, if cramped. Decent breakfast and comfortable lobby area. Very well placed for the sights of Kaikoura yet quiet location

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    70
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
150
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Well furnished room and a lovely shower! A great welcome after flying in from the UK! The steak in the restaurant was cooked to perfection , a fab meal. Breakfast was, a bit disappointing, but ok. Staff were friendly and very helpful. location is perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Christchurch at 5 am and drove straight up to Kaikoura. Our room wasn't ready yet but the girl gave us an Internet password and recommended a place for coffee nearby. We checked in after returning from our seal swim ( awesome!) and enjoyed complimentary coffee and tea in our room. The room was small but sufficed for our one night stay. It was very clean and the staff kind and friendly. The restaurant looked wonderful and we regretted not having dinner there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed one night near the end of our South Island trip, could have easily stayed more. Room was small but lovely, very clean and beautifully decorated. We really were able to really relax and enjoy all that Kaikoura has to offer from this central location. The bed was AMAZING, we will be sourcing one for home! Owners were very friendly and helpful offering suggestions on where to have dinner and things to see and do. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleby magna,leics
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice here in this individually tailored hotel, welcoming owners in a new and developing business. Comfortable and quiet, the connected restaurant is excellent and well worth trying. We were touring New Zealand and this made a change from the usual corporate offerings we had encountered. Try it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I only stayed one night but was immediately made to feel very welcome on arrival. I had a superb meal in the connected restaurant and a very restful night's sleep. The hotel is obviously being worked on, but the courtyard rooms are still very servicebale and care has been taken with their decor. I had no complaints at all with my stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our family only stayed at the Kaikoura Boutique hotel for one night, and we found it very comfortable. The Main building was beautiful and old fashioned. The rooms have recently been remodeled, so they are modern and luxurious. It was small, but very well done and cozy, and we loved the locally made lotions. We are a family of two adults and two kids, and the Kaikoura Boutique hotel accommodated us wonderfully, we got two rooms, side by side, one for the parents and another for the kids. Host Robyn was very helpful with suggestions of nearby attractions, and we fully enjoyed a beautiful walk through the forests and along the coastline. The beds were nice, and the bathrooms were well designed, although the showers were a little hard to work. The hotel is right across the street from the ocean, and is walking distance from the main part of town. The Kaikoura Boutique hotel was very nice and quaint, and we recommend it to all travelers in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaikoura Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Boutique Hotel

Address: 146 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Maxtons On The Shore)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kaikoura Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel is an historic hotel right on the waterfront on Kaikoura's majestic Esplanade. The rooms have recently been upgraded to an extremely high standard, with stunning contemporary interior design, brand new furniture and flat screen TVs. The guest lounge has spectacular views over the ocean.. The rate includes free parking and free Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kaikoura Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaikoura Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.