We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in Kaikoura!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hislops Wholefood Cafe

Hislops Wholefood Cafe
33 Beach Rd, Kaikoura, New Zealand
03 319-6971
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 48 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Organic, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Kaikoura!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I went to Hislop's for morning tea and had the most amazing carrot cake. Loved the atmosphere I decided to return for dinner with some friends. Two of us had Seafood Chowder. The best we have had in New Zealand. Other friend had the polenta which was also great. We all had dessert which was equally as good. Thanks for a great meal of tasty and quality food. Also loved the Gooseberry Spritzer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    52
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just Dessert, Just Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I heard multiple reviews of how good this place was. And although I wasn't necessarily disappointed, I wasn't exactly wowed with our food. Again, I only had dessert so maybe needed to try their other menu items. The atmosphere was very nice and cozy, as well as the service.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Adequate, without a lasting memory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We wanted lunch. And a drink. To be honest I can't remember what my partner ordered. i know I had the fish of the day. It would have been terakihi , or perhaps gurnard, from it's appearance and taste, but we were not advised, which is unusual. I found it a little dry, indicating perhaps overcooking or not quite as fresh as could be. Wines started at about $10.50 a glass and rose through to $13 or so, which is a bit steep for a cafe style eatery. I know they are all organic, but 'd like to see relativity just the same. Also, we could see that the glass sereve size was not consistent, so if you are being charged $12 for a glass of wine and you can see someone else is getting more, that kind of sticks. Coffee, which I have had at Hislop's before, was good, and service generally efficient.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ziqim, Israel
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We read good reviews about the restaurant, and we came in and ordered seafood chowder and the vege dish.

The chowder was OK, but the vege dish was a few slices of toasted bread with some dips for 15 NZD. It's disappointing and overpriced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Healthy and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Had a delicious meal at hislops. Homemade bread was delicious. Couldn't have the seafood chowder as I am allergic to mussels and they make it up beforehand, however my husband had it and it was a little heavy. We had monkfish for main with couscous, which was excellent, best monk fish I have ever had, cooked to perfection. We then had a desert selection to share, which was also wonderful. For wine we ordered sparkling Sauvignon bland, not something we had had before, which was very good value and very nice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hislops Wholefood Cafe also viewed

 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Hislops Wholefood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hislops Wholefood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.