We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good the second time around” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairways

Save Saved
You added The Fairways to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairways
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Kersage Dr | Ocean Ridge, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not as good the second time around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Fairways is a modern apartment accommodation complex on the ridge out of Kaikoura about 5 minutes drive from town. We stayed here just after the complex opened and were very impressed then. This was our second stay and quite honestly the gloss had worn off. It appears that new Managers had just taken over and they were still finding their way.
Although every morning we shut the windows and blinds when we returned the blinds had been opened so that the apartment was like an oven and all of our belongings were on show ( not very security minded ).
I had a few gripes with the Managers however the worst was the cats ( kittens really ). We found that we couldn't even open a window without scoring a cat. I actually awoke to one in bed with me and was definitely not a happy camper. It took me a while to evict it and its friends at 2am. Over the 4 day stay I found they had ways of coming thru even the bathroom window.BTW it was high summer and there was no way we could survive without opening the windows and a doors at night.
Manager's response - laughed.
I don't thinl we will come back for a third visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfella10, Owner at The Fairways, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
• Kia Ora

We are sorry that you time here at The Fairways wasn't as you say pleasant.

While we were in the new faze it certainly didn't stop the apartments being extremely clean & tidy, service still top rate as we have just had our Qualmark Assessment which we passed with 5 Star & Enviro Gold Award, which we are the only ones in Kaikoura to have been awarded it.
Unfortunately the gloss as you put it, does wear off after 5 years, but the upkeep of The Fairways is first & for most on our list for the benefit of all guests & to retain the gloss as you put it.

We certainly did not laugh with the cats(kittens), as we were most embarrassed about them getting in. You told us it was ok as you liked cats, which is it? Annoyed they came in or not? As we said to you, we would speak to the owners of them, which we did. We also showed them your trip advisor when we received it. We would like you to know that due to this the kittens now have wings, so they certainly won't be bothering anyone ever again.

When servicing of the apartments are done, opening the curtains is one of the things we do. If you did not wish for them to opened, all you needed to do was to let us know & we would have told the girls to leave them down. Your belongings are not on show, as in the bedroom there are the net curtains which you can not see through from outside. Not only that, the staff & of course management are around the complex all day. We have never had any problems with security. Lack of security, well you certainly have it, due to the fact that you left bathroom windows & doors to outside of the apartment open during the night. With AC going, you diffinately don't require any windows or doors open.

We think it's a shame that you don't think you will be back, unfortunately there aren't too many places that have new complexes built every year so that there is a gloss each time you arrive.
We get wows when guests walk into the apartment, staff are helpful & friendly, and when guests aren't unrealistic, & respect the apartment or studios, ourselves, then everyone is satisfied.

Sometimes we would like to write on trip advisor on how some guests behave & how they can leave the apartment/studio in a disgusting state. Would they do that to there own homes? It's a shame we can't comment on them!

Unfortunately there are plenty of people out there who will never be satisfied. They have little or no respect for staff, they believe we are only here to serve. That's not what this is about. We provide excellent service(s) & accommodation, we aren't slaves, & we do have families & pets that live here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    51
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
132
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Fairways is a modern apartment complex adjacent to a golf course a few miles out of Kaikoura. I'm not quite sure how it is owned and managed - I may be wrong but it seems to be like a kind of timeshare where the individual apartments are let out when not wanted by their owners. Anyway, we had been allocated a studio, which is basically a bedroom which could be part of a larger apartment but can be let out on its own. It had a double bed, fridge, desk, en-suite shower room, but it was all rather cramped. The entrance was via a sliding glass patio door, and the only other window was in the bathroom. The room was not air-conditioned, and it got rather airless and stuffy unless you left the sliding door open.

We'd been expecting to have more of an apartment style room with BBQ etc., but these are attached to the larger non-studio apartments. When we asked we were allowed to use the BBQ of a neighbouring unoccupied apartment, but the lack of outdoor furniture meant we had to eat at the small writing desk in the bedroom.

There is WiFi available, but we'd have had to pay extra for it, so didn't use it. I'm sorry but I think it's unacceptable for hotels etc. to charge for Internet access these days - it's like putting a meter on the hot water tap. I'm sure they would make more out of it by just factoring the cost into the room rate.

Room Tip: Avoid the studio rooms - apartments are much larger and better equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfella10, Owner at The Fairways, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Kia Ora

It's a shame that The Fairways studio room that you paid for, wasn't the 1 bedroom apartment that you would have liked. Unfortunately the apartments don't come at the price of a studio, even the bed in the studios are super kings, not doubles as stated, so you have plenty of room to relax.

Due to the short length of time guests stay in a studio there is the window in the bathroom, which you referred to, however there is also one in the ranch slider door. When you close the door on the glass panel there is a window. These when both open create a wind funnel, which produces a lovely cooling breeze with plenty of fresh air, without having the sliding door open, for this exact purpose.

The Fairways is not a timeshare. The apartments are individually owned & luckily for everyone the owners are generous enough to let (strangers)guests stay in them for minimal cost considering we are Qualmark 5 star & Enviro Award Gold Apartments. I'm sure not everyone treats their homes with the lack of respect some guests do when staying here.

If the neighbouring apartments are unoccupied, the BBQ & outdoor furniture, consisting of table & 4 chairs (wooden) can and are certainly used, by guests in the studios. Sometimes the table & chairs are in another outdoor area around the apartment. Asking more often than not brings a favourable reply in regards to questions such as "do you have any outdoor furniture & is it ok to use it?".

WiFi as you state is available. On arrival guests are asked if they are interested in having WiFi as we are on a voucher system (to stop excessive & off site usage) & guests are informed that there is no cost for the first 100MB (worth $10), it is complimentary, so you having to pay $10 has us quite confused. If you have been downloading movies, sending heaps of photos etc, then you would have to pay for extra MB's, apart from that it's ample enough to check & send emails. Wouldn't it be nice not to have to pay for internet access.

Studios are alot smaller, they cater for guests travelling through, wanting a place for the night. If you are staying for more than a night, want to cook for yourself then we always recommend an apartment.

We hope that rest of your stay in New Zealand is enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Fairways turned out to be very comfortable, away from town, with a charming host, to boot. We stayed only one night, having come to Kaikoura to see the town where a granddaughter spent a college term, and feel fortunate to have found such a nice accommodation. We needed only a small place for one night, but the unit was roomy, with coffee, refrigerator, appliances, a shower, TV, comfortable bed, and easily accessible. The host was very accommodating and seemed delighted to show us the adjacent unit, not booked, which was much larger, with large eating area, full kitchen, couches, etc., and with a washer and dryer which he offered to let us use at no additional charge! It is easy to recommend The Fairways and we would be delighted to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed two nights in this self contained 1 bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchen. 5mins drive to the town center, restaurants, supermarket and excursion centers. Very comfortable and modern furnished. Would love to stay longer there!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Fresh, clean and comfortable establishment immediately south of town in a new residential development. You won't be walking into town from here, unless it's a good walk you're after, but it's just a 2-3min drive, and if you want a quiet and comfortable place to stay, this fits the bill nicely. The studio rooms are compact, but have everything you would expect. The larger appartments are very well equipped and could easily be lived it for an extended period. Friendly and very pleasant owners. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here in order to take advantage of the whale watching tour in Kaikoura. The location is OK (south of Kaikoura by a few Kms). The room we had was a bit small. Breakfast was delivered to the room - but the room had no real dining facility: we had to squeeze up to the writing desk. The staff were very pleasant, and fortunately we were only staying the two nights - the samll size would have turned into a nightmare if we'd been there any longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The 2-bedroom unit which we stayed in for 2 nights was well-equipped, clean and comfortable. The managers were extremely friendly and helpful. The only downside is the distance from Kaikoura itself. We found it to be very quiet at night and I particularly enjoyed the night sky- when the street lights were turned off (not sure why this occurred though), you could see millions of stars and the Milky Way- beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairways

Address: 1 Kersage Dr | Ocean Ridge, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairways 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 1 and 2 bedroom apartments and studios offering luxurious fully self contained accommodation for travelers looking for some quality and friendly service that will your make to trip to Kaikoura a memorable one. Located just 3 km south of Kaikoura within Ocean Ridge between the Kaikoura Golf course and the Kaikoura winery. Your hosts are Graham and Robyn Lamond who live on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Fairways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Hotel Kaikoura
Fairways Motel Kaikoura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.