We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Studio, not fit for purpose” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairways

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairways to your Saves list
The Fairways
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Kersage Dr | Ocean Ridge, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Studio, not fit for purpose”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We are on a 10 week trip around New Zealand and a lot of our accommodation has been per-booked by a travel agent. This is the first problem we have encountered. We feel the agent made a mistake in booking us a studio room in this depressing collection of dull boxes. We are not interested in the website's boasts about it's Eco credentials or the ex owners views on the community etc. what we wanted was a comfortable studio apartment, with privacy and pleasant surroundings. What we got was:
1) a tiny room with a kettle and a fridge only accessible when the bed was moved
2) a complete lack of sound insolation, e.g. When the people in the adjoining apartment spoke at normal volume we could hear them as clearly as if they were standing beside our bed. It was possible to hear a spoon rattle in a cup and the kettle boiling. Our night's sleep was seriously disturbed by occupants of the neighbouring suite needing to make tea at 3.45 am and again at 6.00 am.
3) the location of Fairways is very poor. No on site facilities located on a fast noises highway requires the use of a car to shop, go to the beach, go for a meal. Not very Eco friendly!
4) the complex consists of a collection of dull box like buildings devoid of architectural merit and being situated in a low area does not easily afford views of the mountains. Sea views are prevented by a large clump of ugly pine trees
5). The tiny room was very stuffy but opening the window brough the added irritation of noise from the adjacent highway.

In conclusion these "studio" rooms are not suitable to market separately from the apartments to which they are connected by a locked internal door.
We had booked in for 2 nights but left after one dreadful night. We are not sure if we will get a refund but even if we do not we believe that life's too short to waste any further time at "The Fairways".
m2smayo

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfella10, Owner at The Fairways, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Kia Ora

We are very sorry that your stay at The Fairways was disappointing to you.
We do however thank you for your review; if we don’t know about a problem we can not rectify or eliminate it.

It would have been nice to have been informed early in the evening of extra noises from neighbouring guests, so we could have moved you to another studio or apartment, or spoken to the guests that were causing you some concern. However this didn’t happen, & we were none the wiser of the situation.

Studios are compact, usually used by guests staying one night. They are functional & well equiped. Providing the bed stays in it's correct position there is room to get into the fridge & use the tea & coffee facilities.

The main road is some 250m from the complex & the noise from the traffic is limited, even with a window open.

We are, and have always been 4.5km from the main town centre. That equates to a 4-5min drive or a 30min walk, it's only a 2-3 min walk across the road to the beach, & we also have in house catering which is available for all meals, (an evening meal out should be a delight), so we are very eco friendly.

Being eco friendly also includes; having our own water system, waste management - recycling, energy efficiency & native plants to attract wildlife, hence the fact we have been achieved the Enviro-Gold award & it is a high priority for us here at Ocean Ridge.

Kaikoura is having one of its best summers, with a number of national highs (temperature), which also adds to the high number of visitors to Kaikoura. It is the busiest season of the year for all motels, hotels & apartments. Everyone is trying to enjoy the summer, beach going, whale watching, swimming with the dolphins & seals, bbqs, taking advantage of the local seafood, children riding scooters, running around & making lots of noise, & generally chillaxing. These are just a few of the things that make this a real Kiwi summer.

We hope you take the time to enjoy the weather & activities that summer provides for everyone, life is too short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    52
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
140
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Excellent standard of accommodation, comfortable bed, very quiet. Friendly host made us feel very welcome. Parking close to door, so easy to "lug luggage" to apartment. Only thing that didn't make it perfect was a "Kaikoura" view of the sea! But still very good value. Only one night passing through after ferry trip, but wish we'd stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

we stayed at the fairways for the whale watching cruise. it is 5km away from the town in a new development complex. the room was spacious and the furnishing are nice. the host was friendly. the crayfish stop on the way to the seal colony was very cheap and tasty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed for a few days at The Fairways recently and had an awesome time. The room was spacious and very comfortable and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. Being a little out of the township was great as the location was quiet. Also allowed us to take a short walk to explore the beach.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed in a 1 room apartment - space and furnishing are great! Looks very very new. There is no common recreation/fitness facilities though. The staff were very friendly.

It is about 5-6 minutes' drive from town and it very very quiet - there were only 2 rooms booked on my last night there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfella10, Owner at The Fairways, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Kia Ora

Thank you for staying with us at The Fairways.
Many guests would be pleased about it being quite, & while there were more than a couple of guests staying while you were here, it's the calm before the storm.

It's nice to know that we market serenity and we accomplish this at times.
Christmas holidays it is diffinately not one of those.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay here in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Although a few kilometers out of Kaikoura, Fairways is definitely worth the added five minutes drive. The room (bedroom and lounge with kitchenette) was very modern, beautifully designed and laid out - super and very spacious.

Room Tip: The Studio room we booked was lovely but a bit small so we upgraded to an apartment which was superb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was a comfortable, clean self-contained and felt new apartment. The kitchen was perfect for simple cooking. Bed was comfortable! The fireplace was beautiful and kept us warm at night. Robin who welcomed us was really friendly. The view was spectacular too! Definitely would recommend this to families who are travelling! Disney channel was such a plus point for us :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairways

Address: 1 Kersage Dr | Ocean Ridge, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairways 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 1 and 2 bedroom apartments and studios offering luxurious fully self contained accommodation for travelers looking for some quality and friendly service that will your make to trip to Kaikoura a memorable one. Located just 3 km south of Kaikoura within Ocean Ridge between the Kaikoura Golf course and the Kaikoura winery. Your hosts are Graham and Robyn Lamond who live on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Hotel Kaikoura
Fairways Motel Kaikoura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.