We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairways

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairways to your Saves list
The Fairways
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Kersage Dr | Ocean Ridge, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. We originally booked a studio room but on arrival we were shown through the adjoining apartment and given the option to upgrade for a bit extra (good sales technique!!)... we just had to upgrade after seeing the apartment and didn't regret it for a moment! the gas fire and spa bath are amazing - it was pouring with rain the day we stayed and they were such a welcome addition and really made it all the difference - so relaxing. We woke up in the morning totally refreshed to a beautiful sunny day and view of the mountains out the back. The hosts were so friendly and made us feel welcome from the start. Don't think we can fault the experience at all. We didn't want to leave and are now trying to think up an excuse to come back! Thanks a lot :) P.S: Just a suggestion: a little bottle of bubble bath would go down a treat... :)

Room Tip: Back rooms have a good view of mountains. Our courtyard looked over the communal pathway between uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    52
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
140
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here as part of a family group. The units were well appointed, comfortable and roomy. The hospitality was absolutely wonderful, the owners could not do enough for us all...and we were a collective challenge!! Can't wait to find an excuse to have to stay again.
Tony and Maureen New Plymouth

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton,NZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

2 of us booked the sudio. VERY small and it really is the 2nd BR of a previous 2BR unit. One could hear all in the next unit. No view and only a sliding glass door that would not provide ventilation. The access code for "Free WiFi" did not work. The room was pricey for the size and ~5km+ from town. The new owners quite friendly, but lack hotel business expertise. The larger apartments seemd much nicer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfella10, General Manager at The Fairways, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Kia Ora Kathryn

Sorry to hear your experience at the Fairways was disappointing. Our location is well advertised as being a ‘fairways’ out of the town (4.5km from the town centre) and the Studio you booked is listed as a “Modern compact studio” on the discounted booking service you used.

As it was Labour Weekend, we had no vacancy however we are surprised to read you could hear the room next door given the solid concrete block wall dividing the rooms.

Each end of the studios has opening windows which normally provide ample ventilation and the double glazing provides additional sound proofing.

Given you arrived late in the evening the views would be limited and if views were part of your requirements then the apartments would have suited you better and they are 3 times the size.

Graham and Robyn were 2 weeks into their business take over, they have excellent qualifications in Customer Service, Management & other business enterprise skills. We pride ourselves at The Fairways on providing a personable, friendly service different to a hotel experience. We are not listed as a hotel or want to be considered as one.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of you trip around the South Island.

Kind Regards
Stephan Rattray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Decided to stop in Kaikoura on the way to Blenheim just for a change and really enjoyed our
night here. Lovely view of the snow on the hills and really nice rooms. We just had the studio but we were shown the whole apartment and they were great. Also very well priced from what I had seen of some of the other places. A few minutes out of town but not a problem if you have a car and I think it would be quieter than some of the places on the main drag.

Room Tip: If you get the ones at the back you look out onto the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a very enjoyable 3 nights. The location is very beautiful, with a view of the mountains. The apartments are very new and well equipped. The managers have just taken over a few weeks ago and were very friendly & helpful.

The apartment we stayed in had a fantastic gas fireplace, perfect for sheltering from a winter storm.

The location is just a 2 minute drive from Kaikoura, so very handy to local attractions.

The only suggestion we'd make is take your own toilet paper. The TP supplied was poor quality. We've had better staying with camel herders deep in the Arabian desert. :-)

Otherwise a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfella10, General Manager at The Fairways, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Kia Ora Mike

Thanks for your review and for coming to stay! We have noted your comments on the Toilet Paper and have incidentally changed products since your visit. The Recycled Toilet Paper is part of our effort towards our Gold Status with the Environment.

We have changed to an embossed recycled toilet paper so would be keen to know your thoughts!

They say the camel herders know how to look after their posteriors

Kind Regards
Stephan Rattray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed with our two children. It's slightly out of town but close enough to not be a problem. We stayed in an apartment which is fully appointed and very spacious. Great place to stay for the family.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Went to Kaikoura for a whale watching trip. Booked the Fairways a short time before arriving and were really pleased to find such a great place. Its just a short distance by car into Kaikoura. Setting is tranquil. Booking in was easy with a really friendly guy from Oz. We got some milk and he took us to the apartment. It was modern, stylishly furnished and with a beautiful bathroom, large shower and soft towels. The view from the room was beautiful. We were able to access the wifi with a code given from reception and whilst it wasnt unlimited we had more than ample time on there and it was included in the overall cost. We had a bit of difficulty on leaving as the card machine in reception was playing up, but eventually a female staff member got it working and all was well. This is a very well laid out complex with great views. Money and effort has gone into providing exceptionally good accommodation at a reasonable price. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairways

Address: 1 Kersage Dr | Ocean Ridge, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairways 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 1 and 2 bedroom apartments and studios offering luxurious fully self contained accommodation for travelers looking for some quality and friendly service that will your make to trip to Kaikoura a memorable one. Located just 3 km south of Kaikoura within Ocean Ridge between the Kaikoura Golf course and the Kaikoura winery. Your hosts are Graham and Robyn Lamond who live on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Hotel Kaikoura
Fairways Motel Kaikoura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.