We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairways

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairways to your Saves list
The Fairways
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Kersage Dr | Ocean Ridge, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent one night in a 1 bedroom apartment with a view of the snow-capped mountains. Peaceful, luxurious and very relaxing! The owners were friendly and helpful too. We made a return booking as we were checking out. This is definitely the place to stay in Kaikoura!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    57
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
149
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I have just come from Wellington to stay the night at The Fairways in a Studio apartment before travelling to Christchurch for the week on skiing vacation. Right from the outset the meet and greet was superb. The hosts, Steph and and Sarah, were very friendly, helpful and professional. I was shown to my room and the features of it explained. Quality is a word that comes to mind. The room came with a generous bed size, Sky TV, study desk, amble heating both in the bed and room, wireless, telephone and an exquiste shower and bathroom ensuite. As a seasoned international traveller, staying in 4-5 star accommodation I was sutiably impressed with the features, cleanilness and quality fittings. Unfortunately my wife was away in London so she couldn't come. However I know she would have greatly appreciated The Fairways and she will come on the next trip. Thank you Sarah and Stephan and we will be recommending The Fairways to many..

Room Tip: Every room as the views are superb, easy access, quiet and so easy to access the beach and lovely bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Just only 2 minutes drive to kaikoura town center, this modernly apartment has everything you need for your wonderful stay. Newly design, sleeping comfort, prompt facility and great host. Stephan was very kind and helpful. We had ask for late check out due to morning activity and he said no problem.

Also the price was so reasonable. Will recommend for everyone who come to kaikoura. There are many kind or room. From studio until 2 bedrooms.

Room Tip: Choose apartment room for home feeling
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is undoubtedly the best apartment I have ever been to. I recommend this property to all those people who go to kaikoura.
And especially Mr.Stephen who took care of us there , was a very good human being and we would thank him tons and tons for what he had done for us.

Room Tip: You should take the 2 bedroom apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

New decoration and design. Full equipment kitcken and BBQ outdoor. The spa is really relaxing. Clean and comfort. The best recommemed to travellers is you can have free Wiif if you are their Facebook fans. There has a nice view hill that my friend did jogging twice a day. There also has a nice golf club nearby.
We really have a nice stay at The Fairways.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukeatua, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Janet and I stayed here in March as a gift from our children to celebtate our 70th birthdays. We had a wonderful time and were overwhelmed by the hospitality we received from Stephan who went out of his way to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Thank you for your free taxi service and the upgrade of our accomodation without charge.We will make sure we come back the next time we visit the South Island.Kind regards Richard and Janet

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiapoi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have just had 2 nights in a 1 Bedroom apartment, which we decided on months ago to treat ourselves to something special, on arrival we paid for the two nights cash up front.Receipt was not issued straight away.
At the apartment, we decided to sit outside and enjoy the afternooon sunshine.
One outdoor chair had a broken back slat piece on it
The apartment had several faults, which for 5 star knocked us back to 4 star in reality.
The BBQ & Tools were really dirty had not been cleaned, which we had to ask to be done, this happened the following day.
The lights in the ensuite 3 out of 4 were blown, they attended to this but could only get 3 working.
Our first night we dined in, the large serving spoon fell into 3 pieces so couldn,t use to dish up dinner.Had trouble with dishwasher to go, did dishes in the sink eventually. The utensils etc looked tired and worn.The fridge door attachment to front cuboard door was missing so everytime we had to open two doors to get into fridge.
Although comfortable and reasonably appointed, we felt a little cheated for 5 star luxurious apartment that they advertised it as, a few things were tired looking and a bit worn out.
The location and setting was great, quiet and peaceful too.
The gas fire was great too.
Maybe next time if we stay, there are improvements made.
They did not ask when we returned the key if we enjoyed our stay etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfella10, Owner at The Fairways, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Hello Peter
Thanks for your review, although we are disappointed you went away feeling cheated of your 5 star experience.

We did make every effort to sort out any issue we were aware of during your stay.
The tax receipt was delivered to your room within 20 minutes of arrival as discussed with you at check-in.

We attended to the 3 blown light bulbs of which there are 6 in total in the bathrooms, one of which was a blown transformer which we did not have in stock, and required the attention of an electrician.Given it was a long weekend holiday, it could not be fixed until the next working day. We would have got this attended to if you hadn't said it would be fine.

We understand that you did not require use of the BBQ during your stay and that you only mentioned the state of the BBQ to avoid us thinking you may have left it unclean. The BBQ's do not get much use during the winter and rust up very quickly given our coastal environment. Again, we would have addressed this sooner if it was such an issue worthy of a TripAdvisor review.

The serving spoon would have been repaired if we had been made aware, or we would have suggested using the other one in the utensil drawer.

We will have another look at the instructions in the compendium for the dishwasher as we occasionally get asked to help with getting these going. Again this is not normally a problem, and part of the service.

We have fixed the outdoor chair which was clearly broken by a previous guest without advising us. Thank you for bringing this to our attention through this forum. Given that we have 48 of these chairs we could have swapped one for you if it was an issue and it was brought to our attention.

The fridge door has also been repaired, though due to the vacuum seal on the fridges, we are not convinced that the integration is a worthwhile accessory in the kitchen.

I hope the weekend was not spoilt by these maintenance items or the Crusaders beating the Highlanders so convincingly.

Kind regards
Stephan Rattray
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairways

Address: 1 Kersage Dr | Ocean Ridge, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairways 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 1 and 2 bedroom apartments and studios offering luxurious fully self contained accommodation for travelers looking for some quality and friendly service that will your make to trip to Kaikoura a memorable one. Located just 3 km south of Kaikoura within Ocean Ridge between the Kaikoura Golf course and the Kaikoura winery. Your hosts are Graham and Robyn Lamond who live on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Fairways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Hotel Kaikoura
Fairways Motel Kaikoura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.