We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varied selection of jade crafts and jewelry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Jade

Mountain Jade
41 Weld St, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
03-755-8007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 20 Attractions in Hokitika
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
Activities: Dining, Hiking
Attraction details
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Varied selection of jade crafts and jewelry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Our group was heading towards Fox Glacier when we made a pit stop in Hokitika. We ventured into the store hoping to find souvenirs we could afford and like. The selection is fairly diverse, from very detailed (expensive) and quality pieces, to smaller and/or less intricate designs made with different types of jade from different regions of the world. As mentioned on other posts, local stone can be fairly expensive and thus one must ask to ensure you are getting what you want.

Overall we found pieces affordable and nice enough for our tastes. Watching the crafters work on jade was interesting enough. If anything, stopping by the store to admire the craftsmanship should be worth the visit. Personnel were friendly and courteous!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob S, Manager at Mountain Jade, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words Jamie R.

We do try very hard to have the full spectrum of jade carving, like you said, from simple, more affordable carvings, to highly intricate, expensive carvings for the jade collector. I'm glad your group found what you were looking for.

Our carvers are some of the most experienced in the country and genuinely love chatting away to customers as they carve, telling them what they are doing at the time, and teaching them about the obscure art form in general. It keeps their job interesting!

I will pass on your mention that our shop staff are doing a great job. Its always great to hear.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ACT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Lots to choose from with bone, jade and paua shell for sale. The jade prices were great value compared to competitors. The staff were knowledgable and friendly. The store was open on a Sunday which was great.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob S, Manager at Mountain Jade, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Sorry for the late reply N T H, I've only just realized we are on Trip Advisor!

Your feedback is very helpful, and reassures us that we are pricing items competitively, and providing enough variety in our range of products to satisfy all of our customers.

I'll forward your review onto our shop assistants so that they know they're doing a great job!

I'm glad you enjoyed yourself, and please do stop in again next time your in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“spoilt for choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

too many jade ornaments to choose from. we wished, my wife especially we could buy them all.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Be warned: most of their stone is imported”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Ask before you buy at the Jade Factory. Most of the jade has been imported from China, and one of the staff members "blames the government for giving the greenstone back to the Maoris". If you want genuine West Coast pounamu, go to the Maori Cultural Centre up the road. The brand "Mountain Jade" is a complete have - this is NOT made from NZ pounamu. Only the most expensive and the most cheap pieces are from local stone.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob S, Manager at Mountain Jade, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi BestNorWester,

Sorry for such a belated reply, I have only just realized we were on Trip Advisor.

I'm really very sorry that you feel you have been deceived. Let me address your comments.

"Most of the jade has been imported from China":
All of our jade carvings are clearly labelled with a sticker stating where the piece of jade is from. This is located inside the pendant box directly to the right hand side of the necklace. Each pendant box is displayed open, so this is easily seen before you make a purchase.

Around 5% of our carvings in NZ jade are produced at our carving studio in China then sent to us here in New Zealand. And we do produce carvings in Canadian jade in China aswell, simply because they are by far the best carvers in the world. We have realized that this may be an issue for some customers so are working with a graphic designer to create a 'made in NZ' and 'made in China' sticker which will also be visible to customers as they browse our carvings. Your comments have reinforced this, so thank-you!

"Only the most expensive and the most cheap pieces are from local stone":
45% of our carvings in New Zealand jade are made by New Zealand artists located throughout New Zealand. We value their skill, craft, and design sense so charge a premium for their work ($200 - $6000NZD). The other 50% is crafted in the adjoined workshop to our Hokitika Mountain Jade store, which you visited. A small team of NZ carvers make a beautiful range of Maori designs at a more affordable price (between $70 - $350NZD). These are the expensive and cheap items you speak of.

Our Canadian, Australian and Siberian jade carvings fill the gaps between the carvings in NZ jade.

Please do keep in mind that high quality NZ jade is rare, and we work with some of the highest grade material in New Zealand. We also demand the highest level of execution in our carvings, and as a result they cost more.

Having things made in NZ and China from all types of jade means we can accommodate customers with both small and large budgets.

Thanks again for your comments. It shows there is room to improve, and we will 100% take what you have to say on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

If you are in Hokitika this Jade Factory is worth visiting to look at all the lovely pieces of Jade. There is something to buy in everybody's price range but the nicer pieces are quie pricey.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob S, Manager at Mountain Jade, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi Popsypops,

Great feedback. Its brilliant that you took the time to let us know what your visit was like.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Jade also viewed

Hokitika, West Coast Region
 
Hokitika, West Coast Region
Hokitika, West Coast Region
 

Been to Mountain Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Jade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.