We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One amazing night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hokitika
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
Save
You added Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation to your Saves list
197 Revell St, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hokitika B&B and Inns
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One amazing night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I spent one amazing night here in February based on recommendations from a few other people I'd met while traveling up the coast, they certainly weren't wrong when they said how great it would be.

The owner is incredibly friendly, he gave us great advice, defiantly go see the Hokitika Gorge and the turquoise waters.

The rooms are spacious and the beds are really comfortable, it's a tiny little hostel so it's very easy to just lie back and relax.

We spent the night on the beach watching an amazing sunset, sitting around a fire with a bottle of wine. There's tons of wood on the beach so it's not hard to get a fire set up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The manager/owner was really friendly & easy going. The place & beds were clean and cosy. They have a fire place in the living room which was really welcoming on cold nights. Heater in room was warm too. Direct access to the beach through their garden - definitely one of the best features of the place. Close enough to town centre. Love it, had a great time & would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

You can park your van and use the facilities for 10 $NZD.Only issue is the 2 toilets ae in with the showers and can be over subscribed ut if youre not i a hurry no worries.Tons of hot water provided by wood stove in the lounge.Mike (the host) is an affable bloke with the perfect disposition for the job, chatty,laid back but responsible. Washing can be dried on the line or for a few bucks in one of the two driers. Hokitika is a laid back cool place.

Room Tip: Range from camping on the back lawn,park your van or nice double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We got in late night and were out early the next morning, so not much time to enjoy the place. We had a private room. Basic but all we needed. Was also clean. Biggest complaint was that the place was coal heated and I'm very sensitive to coal odor. Other than that, great service and just enough amenities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We had a short stopover at the Drifting Sands on our way down to Queenstown. Our room was basic but clean and the shared common space was very inviting. Shared bathrooms, but at this price, who is complaining?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

One of a series of short reviews after a South Island road trip!

I see other reviews are universally positive so mine might seem a bit out of place.

Drifting Sands is basically a converted house, a couple of private rooms, a couple of shared dorm rooms, and space out the back for a couple of tents. It was almost at capacity the night we stayed.

Impossible to avoid or minimise the noise of the kitchen and people in living area as all the rooms are so close together, and it really needed a third bathroom area or even just an additional toilet.

We had two private rooms booked, one for us and one for mum. Being fundamentally a backpacker sort of place there's no TV nor anything much else in the rooms other than a chair, and interestingly no TV in the living room either. At this time of year the rooms were pretty warm and no way to keep cool except keeping windows open.

There is direct access to the beach which is nice and part of the reason I choose to book us here.

At about $75 per room and with all the above points taken into account, I think a rating of 3 is fair. It neither exceeded expectations nor was less than expectations, hence being an average rating.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Wonderful backpackers, it backs onto the beach and is no more than a 10 minute walk into the town centre. Murray and his wee dog Henry made us feel very welcome. They put all of our motorbikes in their garage and left their car outside and offered us umbrellas to walk into town in case it rained (which it didnt). It was lovely and warm with the fire and we hafe great fish & chips from Porkys. Would defintely come and stay again. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation

Address: 197 Revell St, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Hokitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOUTIQUE Beachfront Accommodation! 5-Minutes walk from town we are your 'home away from home' with hotel-grade mattresses, feather duvets and quality linen. Quiet and clean with a fireplace, free tea & coffee and our famous homemade bread. WiFi, iMac jukebox, BBQ, laundry, off-street parking, bicycle rental. Jade carving and Wine Bar discounts. Light a bonfire on the beach & watch the sunset or enjoy our moonlight cinema under the stars. View photo's and fun on Facebook. Homely, budget accommodation at its best, we are also available exclusively as a holiday let, please get in touch to enquire about availability. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.