We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative pizzas in Hokitika” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Pipi Pizzas

Fat Pipi Pizzas
89 Revell St, Hokitika, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Hokitika
Cuisines: Bakery, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Creative pizzas in Hokitika”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

They had several innovative vegetarian options. We got half black beans etc and half pumpkin cashew. Both sides were very tasty. The garlic bread was also great. The man at the bar was super friendly and colorful. The only demerit was that the white wine we ordered by the glass tasted like the bottle had been uncorked a long time before.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    56
    13
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Try more than one - recommend splitting a pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Allowed us to split a pizza (believe for no additional charge), allowing us to try two varieties. We got half Aloha (pineapple, pepperoni, bacon) and the other half a seafood cajun that was the special of the day. Both were fantastic. Appeared to be a family run business. Owner was very friendly though had a thick kiwi(?) accent that at times made it just a little difficult for a couple Americans to keep up with the conversation. Order was up pretty quick despite all tables being occupied and orders heading the door. Did not take credit card. While I understand why, it makes things a little more difficult for international travelers. That said, we’d definitely go back for more.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
1 review
“What more can you want?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great food, Friendly locals with a sense of humor in there menu (Far Canal house wine), Great atmosphere. The most happening place in Hokitika.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Got the TRex of pizzas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had a takeaway pizza but ended up eating there. It took 10 mins to get our order. The pizza was delicious, thin crust but not soggy. Perfect really. The TRex had all kinds of meat on it with BBQ sauce.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Whitebait Pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I had heard that this place was now the best pizza place in Hokitika overtaking the famous Bonzai Pizza. I had to go and find out what the buzz was.
I had a takeaway from the place and was not disappointed, the pizza had a great crispy crust topped with 250gm of freshly caught white bait for only $26.00. When it is sold for $80.00 a kilo this is great value!
And yes it was freshly caught, the whitebaiter was in when I was there giving over his day's catch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Pipi Pizzas also viewed

Hokitika, West Coast Region
Hokitika, West Coast Region
 
Hokitika, West Coast Region
Hokitika, West Coast Region
 

Been to Fat Pipi Pizzas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Pipi Pizzas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.